Go Inside the Steinberg Playwright Awards Honoring Suzan-Lori Parks

Photos   Go Inside the Steinberg Playwright Awards Honoring Suzan-Lori Parks
The ceremony was held at Lincoln Center Theatre December 3.
Suzan-Lori Parks Marc J. Franklin

Suzan-Lori Parks, the award-winning playwright who made history in 2002 as the first African-American woman to receive the Pulitzer Prize in Drama for her play Topdog/Underdog, received the 2018 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award December 3 at Lincoln Center.

Flip through photos of the production below:

Administered by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, the “Mimi” Awards are presented annually to honor the work of American playwrights. The recipient of the Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award receives a cash award of $200,000.

“Suzan-Lori Parks is one of the great writers of our time. Her fearless experimentation, her refusal to be confined by any categories or boundaries, her dazzling linguistic prowess and her joyous embrace of the struggle have made her an inspiration and role model for countless other artists. Her great subject is freedom, a freedom exemplified in her forms and her content,” said Advisory Committee Member and Public Theater Artistic Director Oskar Eustis. “She has also defied Fitzgerald’s dictum that American artists have no second acts: in her maturity she is writing with a boldness and originality that amazes. She is a most fitting recipient of the Steinberg Award.”

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News