Grammy Awards Presented Feb. 8 on CBS-TV

News   Grammy Awards Presented Feb. 8 on CBS-TV
CBS-TV will broadcast the 48th Annual Grammy Awards Feb. 8 at 8PM ET. The annual ceremony, presented by the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, will be held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, CA.

Among those scheduled to perform include Mariah Carey, John Legend, Kanye West, Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter, Madonna, Paul McCartney, Kelly Clarkson, U2, Mary J. Blige, Coldplay, Faith Hill, Keith Urban, Christina Aguilera, Herbie Hancock, Sugarland and Jamie Foxx. The evening will also feature an all-star tribute to Sly and the Family Stone that includes Maroon 5, Will.I.Am, Robert Randolph, Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, Joss Stone, John Legend, Ciara, Devin Lima and Hezekiah Walker.

The Grammy telecast will also pay tribute to New Orleans with performances by New Orleans local legends Allen Toussaint, Dr. John and "Soul Queen of New Orleans" Irma Thomas. Elvis Costello, Bonnie Raitt, Bruce Springsteen, and Sam Moore will be part of the segment as well.

Of most interest to theatre lovers is the Best Musical Show Album category. This year's nominees include the original cast recordings of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, The Light in the Piazza, Monty Python's Spamalot and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee as well as the all-star Actors' Fund of America benefit concert cast recording of Hair. The detailed list of nominees in that category follows:

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels: Billy Straus & David Yazbek, producers; David Yazbek, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including John Lithgow & Norbert Leo Butz) [Ghostlight Records]

Hair Kurt Deutsch & Joel Moss, producers (Galt MacDermot, composer; James Rado & Gerome Ragni, lyricists) (The Actors' Fund of America Benefit Recording) [Ghostlight Records] •The Light in the Piazza Steven Epstein, producer; Adam Guettel, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including Victoria Clark & Kelli O'Hara) [Nonesuch]

Monty Python's Spamalot John Du Prez & Eric Idle, producers; John Du Prez, composer; Eric Idle, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including David Hyde Pierce, Tim Curry, Hank Azaria & Sara Ramirez) [Decca Broadway]

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee Kurt Deutsch & Joel Moss, producers; William Finn, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast) [Razor & Tie/Ghostlight Records] In the Traditional Pop category nominees include Tony Bennett ("The Art of Romance"), Michael Bublé ("It's Time"), Johnny Mathis ("Isn't it Romantic"), Carly Simon ("Moonlight Serenade") and Rod Stewart ("Thanks for the Memory. . . The Great American Songbook Volume IV").

For a complete list of this year's nominations, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: