Greenbrier Ghost, The Stronger and The Thing About Joe Set for BMI Spring Smoker

News   Greenbrier Ghost, The Stronger and The Thing About Joe Set for BMI Spring Smoker
The BMI-Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop has announced the musicals that will be presented as part of the semi-annual Smoker showcase for industry professionals on April 30.

The 5:30 PM Spring Smoker presentation will take place in the Media Room of BMI's New York office. The title was derived from workshop moderator Maury Yeston's informal music gatherings while an undergraduate.

Musicals showcased include The Suicide, by Raymond Bokhour and Simon Gray, featuring Raymond and Christine Bokhour; The Thing About Joe, by Randy Klein and Matthew Hardy, featuring Ashley Fox Linton performing "New Jersey"; Dan Isreal, Pheobe Kreutz and Adam Mathias' The Dirty Hippie Jam Band Project, with performances by Sandie Rosa, Brandon Ellis, Amy Zelcer, Bret Carr, Ben Fusco-Gessick, Evan Siegel and David Soson; and Peter Yarin and Justin Warner's The Masked Zinfandel, featuring "With Enemies Like You" performed by Bradley Dean and Raymond Bokhour.

Clay Zambo and Susan Murray's Greenbrier Ghost will be represented with a duet by Carl Danielsen and Will Trice; Tracy Sallows and Shira Lissek will perform "I Have a Secret" from Craig Baldwin and Kathy Lombardi's adaptation of Strindberg's The Stronger; a sample of Phillip Chernyak's solo creation The Diller Killer will be presented; and Kimberly Stern will perform "Tiny Sting" from Chernyak's musical The Wasp Woman, which was co-created with Blake Hackler.

Additional Smoker offerings include "I Can See Things," penned by David Gaines and Kellen Blair, and "When It’s Right," written by Ilene Weiss and Michael Kooman.

* Founded by Lehman Engel in 1961, the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, fully funded by the BMI foundation at no cost to its participants, was created in order to nurture the craft of musical theatre by providing new writers with a testing ground for their work under the guidance of experienced professionals within the industry.

Notable alumni and members include Maury Yeston (Titanic, Grand Hotel, Nine), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Alan Menken (Little Shop of Horrors, Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid), Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez (Avenue Q), Edward Kleban (A Chorus Line), Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Ragtime, Once on This Island, Dessa Rose), Gerard Alessandrini (Forbidden Broadway) and Michael John LaChiusa (Hello Again, Marie Christine, The Wild Party).

Today’s Most Popular News: