Hadestown, Alice By Heart Among 2019 Chita Rivera Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Hadestown, Alice By Heart Among 2019 Chita Rivera Award Winners Winners were announced during a May 19 ceremony at the NYU Skirball Center, co-hosted by Tony winners Ann Reinking and Ben Vereen.
Timothy Hughes, Afra Hines, Ahmad Simmons, Kimberly Marable, and John Krause in Hadestown Matthew Murphy

Winners have been announced for the third annual Chita Rivera Awards, honoring dance and choreography in theatre (Broadway and Off-Broadway) and film. Tony Award winners Ann Reinking (Chicago, Dancin') and Ben Vereen (Jesus Christ Superstar, Pippin) co-hosted the May 19 ceremony at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Among the winners were Broadway's Hadestown and the Off-Broadway production of Alice by Heart, which took home two awards.

Ten-time Tony nominee Graciela Daniele was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Cher and producers Jeffrey Seller and Flody Suarez were honored with the Ambassador for the Arts Award for their contribution to the convergence of theatre, film, and television.

Four-time Tony winner George C. Wolfe (Angels In America, Jelly's Last Jam, Broadway's current Gary) received the SDC Director Award, which is presented annually to directors for their exemplary collaboration with choreographers on Broadway.

The list of winners follows. See the full list of nominees here.


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show:
David Neumann, Hadestown

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:
Ephraim Sykes, Ain't Too Proud

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show: (tie)
Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, The Cher Show
Gabrielle Hamilton, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show:
King Kong


Outstanding Choreography
Rick and Jeff Kuperman, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Male Dancer
Wesley Taylor, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Female Dancer
Irina Dvorovenko, The Beast in the Jungle

Outstanding Ensemble
Smokey Joe's Café, Steven Baruch, Mark Routh, Richard Frankel, Tom Viertel


Theatrical Release
Mary Poppins Returns (Release date, December 19, 2018, Emily Blunt, Lin-Manuel Miranda) Choreographers: Rob Marshall & John DeLuca; Co-Choreographer, Joey Pizzi; Associate Choreographer, Tara Nichole Hughes, Assistant Choreographer: Marlon Pelayo

Moving Stories, Lives Transformed By Dance (Release Date, August 11, 2018, Battery Dance Festival, MoMa)
Director: Rob Fruchtman, Wilderness Films, Producer

Photos: Go Inside the 2019 Chita Rivera Awards with Hadestown, The Prom, and More

Dance News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!