Hadestown Leads 2019 Outer Critics Circle Nominations | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Hadestown Leads 2019 Outer Critics Circle Nominations The Broadway productions of Tootsie and Oklahoma! also received several nominations.
Amber Gray and cast of Hadestown Matthew Murphy

The nominees for the 69th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards, which recognize excellence on and Off-Broadway from the 2018–2019 season, have been announced. Leading the list with 12 nominations is Hadestown, followed by Tootsie , which received 10 nominations, and the newly imagined revival of Oklahoma!, which received six nominations.

Not far behind were the Broadway productions of All My Sons, The Ferryman, and Ink, which each received five nods.

The organization of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media beyond Broadway will announce winners May 13, with a gala awards dinner presentation to follow May 23 at Sardi’s.

Special Achievement Awards will be given to The Puppetry Team that created and operates King Kong on Broadway, and to The York Theatre Company (James Morgan, Producing Artistic Director and Evans Haile, Executive Director) in recognition of their 50th anniversary.

Due to limited ticket supply, The Boys in the Band was not able to accommodate Outer Critics Circle nominators, and thus was deemed ineligible.

See below for the complete list of nominees.

2018–2019 Award Nominations

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Ferryman
To Kill a Mockingbird
What the Constitution Means to Me

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
Be More Chill
Head Over Heels
The Prom

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
The House That Will Not Stand
Lewiston / Clarkston
The Light
White Noise

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
The Beast in the Jungle
Black Light
Girl from the North Country
The Hello Girls
Midnight at the Never Get

Outstanding Book Of A Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Robert Horn, Tootsie
Conor McPherson, Girl from the North Country
Peter Mills and Cara Reichel, The Hello Girls
Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown
Jeff Whitty and James Magruder, Head Over Heels

Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin, The Prom
Joe Iconis, Be More Chill
Peter Mills, The Hello Girls
Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown
David Yazbek, Tootsie

Outstanding Revival Of A Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
All My Sons
By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Juno and the Paycock
Our Lady of 121st Street
The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Revival Of A Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Carmen Jones
Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Kiss Me, Kate
Smokey Joe’s Cafe

Outstanding Director Of A Play
Rupert Goold, Ink
Sam Mendes, The Ferryman
Jack O’Brien, All My Sons
Bartlett Sher, To Kill a Mockingbird
Logan Vaughn,The Light

Outstanding Director Of A Musical
Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown
Scott Ellis, Tootsie
Daniel Fish, Oklahoma!
Joel Grey, Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Cara Reichel, The Hello Girls

Outstanding Choreographer
Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me, Kate
Christopher Gattelli, The Cher Show
Denis Jones, Tootsie
David Neumann, Hadestown
Sergio Trujillo, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Set Design (Play or Musical)
Beowulf Boritt, Bernhardt/Hamlet
Bunny Christie, Ink
Rachel Hauck, Hadestown
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
David Korins, Beetlejuice

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
Bob Mackie, The Cher Show
William Ivey Long, Beetlejuice
William Ivey Long, Tootsie
Arianne Phillips, Head Over Heels

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Neil Austin, Ink
Stacey Derosier, Lewiston / Clarkston
Bradley King, Hadestown
Jason Lyons, Sugar in Our Wounds
Peter Mumford, King Kong

Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Peter England, King Kong
Alex Basco Koch, Be More Chill
Peter Nigrini, Beetlejuice
Jeff Sugg, All My Sons
Tal Yarden, Network

Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical)
John Gromada, All My Sons
Peter Hylenski, King Kong
Drew Levy, Oklahoma!
Eric Sleichim, Network
Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Outstanding Orchestrations
Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, Hadestown
Simon Hale, Girl from the North Country
Joseph Joubert, Carmen Jones
Daniel Kluger, Oklahoma!
Harold Wheeler, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Actor In A Play
McKinley Belcher III, The Light
Bryan Cranston, Network
Daveed Diggs, White Noise
Bill Irwin, On Beckett
Jeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Outstanding Actress In A Play
Glenn Close, Mother of the Maid
Edie Falco, The True
Glenda Jackson, King Lear
Mandi Masden, The Light
Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Actor In A Musical
Brooks Ashmanskas, The Prom
Reeve Carney, Hadestown
Damon Daunno, Oklahoma!
Santino Fontana, Tootsie
Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)

Outstanding Actress In A Musical
Stephanie J. Block, The Cher Show
Kelli O’Hara, Kiss Me, Kate
Beth Leavel, The Prom
Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones
Mare Winningham, Girl from the North Country

Outstanding Featured Actor In A Play
Bertie Carvel, Ink
John Clay III, Choir Boy
Hugh Dancy, Apologia
John Procaccino, Downstairs
Benjamin Walker, All My Sons

Outstanding Featured Actress In A Play
Joan Allen, The Waverly Gallery
Stephanie Berry, Sugar in Our Wounds
Fionnula Flanagan, The Ferryman
Harriett D. Foy, The House That Will Not Stand
Celia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a Mockingbird

Outstanding Featured Actor In A Musical
John Behlmann, Tootsie
André De Shields, Hadestown
Reg Rogers, Tootsie
George Salazar, Be More Chill
Ephraim Sykes, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Featured Actress In A Musical
Amber Gray, Hadestown
Leslie Kritzer, Beetlejuice
Bonnie Milligan, Head Over Heels
Sarah Stiles, Tootsie
Ali Stroker, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, The New One
Maddie Corman, Accidentally Brave
Jake Gyllenhaal, A Life
Carey Mulligan, Girls & Boys
Renée Taylor, My Life on a Diet

John Gassner Award (Presented For An American Play, Preferably By A New Playwright)
Jeremy O. Harris, Slave Play
Jeremy Kareken and David Murrell, and Gordon Farrell, The Lifespan of a Fact
Donja R. Love, Sugar in Our Wounds
Ming Peiffer, Usual Girls
Charly Evon Simpson, Behind the Sheet

The 2018-19 Outer Critics Circle Nominating Committee was made up of David, Gordon, Simon Saltzman, Patrick Hoffman, Joseph Cervelli, Harry Haun, Cynthia Allen, Richard Ridge, David Roberts, and Janice Simpson.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!