Harold Prince, Margo Lion, Thomas Schumacher Among Mentors for Second Annual T. Fellowship for Producers

News   Harold Prince, Margo Lion, Thomas Schumacher Among Mentors for Second Annual T. Fellowship for Producers
The second annual T. Fellowship, designed to empower new creative producers, will accept applications from May 22-Aug. 1. Mentors include Harold Prince (mentor and founder), Margo Lion, Gregory Mosher, Thomas Schumacher, Jeffrey Seller and David Stone.

Harold Prince
Harold Prince Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Fellowship promises to "expose the Fellow to the widest possible range of contemporary theatrical producing practices while providing opportunities to discuss the shifting role of the creative producer. The T. Fellowship will provide financial, legal, and production support for development of a project and a presentation."

Final candidates will go through an interview process with the T. Fellowship committee, and the Fellow will be announced Oct. 1. The program will begin in fall 2013. Applications and instructions are available online at TFellowship.com

The program is managed by Columbia University School of the Arts, and the T. Fellowship committee members will serve as mentors to the selected Fellow. Other advisors and staff for the T. Fellowship program include Victoria Bailey (executive director, Theatre Development Fund), Steven Chaikelson (head of the MFA Theatre Management & Producing Concentration at the School of the Arts) and Ed Wilson (co-founder).

The T. Fellowship is a one-year program. In the first phase, the Fellow may take classes, apprentice and observe through placements "in the field" with working professionals. During that time, the Fellow will also be working to identify and develop a new theatrical production.

During the second phase of the Fellowship, the Fellow will produce and present the work he or she has developed. The Fellow will receive a stipend of $10,000 with a $20,000 budget for the development of his or her new theatrical production. The T. Fellowship was established to honor the legacy of Broadway producer T. Edward Hambleton by supporting and developing a new generation of gifted, emerging creative theatrical producers, who initiate work from the ground up, following a path all their own. Orin Wolf and John Pinkard were awarded the first T. Fellowships in 2007.

For more information, visit TFellowship.com or Arts.Columbia.edu.

Today’s Most Popular News: