Harris Yulin, Stephen McKinley Henderson and Israel Hicks Will Direct Juilliard Plays in 2010-11

News   Harris Yulin, Stephen McKinley Henderson and Israel Hicks Will Direct Juilliard Plays in 2010-11
Juilliard's Drama Division will present a series of fully-staged productions during the 2010-2011 season featuring students in their fourth and final year of acting training at Juilliard. The directors are pulled from the Broadway and regional theatre community.
Harris Yulin
Harris Yulin

This season's plays include Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun, directed by Israel Hicks, Oct. 20-24; David Auburn's Proof, directed by Harris Yulin, Nov. 11-15; and Chekhov's The Seagull, directed by Richard Feldman, Dec. 9-13.

Led by James Houghton, the Richard Rodgers Director of Drama, the Division will also present two Shakespeare plays in repertory in spring 2011, performed by its third-year actors, on a modern designed version of Shakespeare's Globe Theater.

The Drama Division also showcases the graduating actors in presentations on both coasts. This season, the Drama Division presents fourth-year repertory during the month of February 2011, which offers three additional plays in rotation. Those plays are David Mamet's Boston Marriage, directed by Lucie Tiberghien; Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park, directed by Fences Tony Award nominee Stephen McKinley Henderson; and a Shakespeare play (to be announced), directed by Rebecca Guy.

Juilliard fourth-year actors (Group 40) appearing in these productions include Danielle Brooks, Jorge Chacon, Caitlin Harrity, Corey Antonio Hawkins, Mark Junek, Joaquina Kalukango, Thor Kristjansson, Justing Lupe-Schomp, Jo Mei, Aaron Moten, Tyrien Obahnjoko, Ryan O'Byrne, Gayle Rankin, Cameron Scoggins, Auden Thornton, Evan Todd, and Katie Tuminelly.

While Juilliard Drama Division performances aren't open for reviews, they are open to the public. All productions take place in the Stephanie P. McClelland Drama Theater, located at 155 West 65th Street on the 4th Floor of Juilliard. Free tickets will be available to the public for each production, two weeks prior to the opening date of each show and a wait list for each performance will begin one hour prior to the start of the show. For more information, call the Juilliard box office at (212) 769-7406 or visit www.juilliard.edu.


Juilliard's Drama Division, co-founded in 1968 by John Houseman and Michel St. Denis, is an intensive four-year conservatory program. In its 40-plus year history, the Drama Division has developed the talents of some of our most distinguished artists of stage and screen; they work across the country and internationally, acting, directing, writing, and teaching.

Today’s Most Popular News: