Harry Belafonte and Maureen O'Hara to Receive Honorary Academy Awards | Playbill

News Harry Belafonte and Maureen O'Hara to Receive Honorary Academy Awards Harry Belafonte will be presented with the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award during the Academy Awards' 6th annual Governors Awards ceremony Nov. 8 at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that in addition to Belafonte, Honorary Awards will be presented to screenwriter Jean-Claude Carrière ("Heureux Anniversaire," "The Unbearable Lightness of Being"), animated film artist-director Hayao Miyazaki ("Spirited Away," " "Princess Mononoke") and actress Maureen O'Hara ("The Hunchback of Notre Dame," "Miracle on 34th Street," "Parent Trap"). Honorary Oscars are presented "to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy."

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, to be presented to Belafonte, is given to "an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry."

Belafonte's numerous credits include "Carmen Jones," "Odds against Tomorrow" and "The World, the Flesh and the Devil." His stage appearances include his Tony-winning performance in John Murray Anderson's Almanac, as well as 3 for Tonight, Moonbirds, Asinamali! and Belafonte at the Palace.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!