Hedwig and the Angry Inch Star Will Receive Special Tony Award | Playbill

Tony Awards Hedwig and the Angry Inch Star Will Receive Special Tony Award The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced that John Cameron Mitchell — the co-creator and original star of Hedwig and the Angry Inch, who recently concluded an extended run in the Broadway production of that musical — will receive the 2015 Special Tony Award.
John Cameron Mitchell in <i>Hedwig and The Angry Inch</i>
John Cameron Mitchell in Hedwig and The Angry Inch Photo by Joan Marcus

"John’s return to Hedwig and the Angry Inch is one for the history books. He not only wrote and co-created the role with Stephen Trask--before directing and starring in the film--but returned to Broadway to star as Hedwig this season after a series of rave performances by Neil Patrick Harris, Andrew Rannells and Michael C. Hall. This is a remarkable undertaking, and we are honored to recognize his outstanding success with this honor," Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theatre Wing, and Charlotte St. Martin, executive director of The Broadway League, said in a joint statement.

Read Playbill.com's interview with Mitchell here.


Read an account of Mitchell's first performance on Broadway, playing to an audience filled with Hed-heads, here, and see a photo of Mitchell in rehearsal here.

John Cameron Mitchell’s New York stage appearances include Broadway’s Big River, and the original casts of The Secret Garden (Drama Desk nomination) and Six Degrees of Separation and Off-Broadway's The Destiny of Me (Obie Award and Drama Desk nom.) and Hello Again (Drama Desk nom.). He starred in and wrote the book for the 1998 Off-Broadway production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch (directed by Peter Askin), for which he won an Obie Award along with co-creator/songwriter Stephen Trask. The film adaptation (2001) won him Best Director at Sundance and a Golden Globe nomination for Best Actor. He directed "Shortbus" (2006) and "Rabbit Hole" (2011). The 2015 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City June 7 beginning at 8 PM ET on CBS, live from the Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

The Tony Awards, which honor theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway, are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!