Hedwig's Neil Patrick Harris, Lena Hall, John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask to Appear on "Good Morning America"

News   Hedwig's Neil Patrick Harris, Lena Hall, John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask to Appear on "Good Morning America"
The cast and creators of the Broadway premiere of Hedwig and the Angry Inch will be featured on "Good Morning America" April 16-17.

Neil Patrick Harris
Neil Patrick Harris Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Lara Spencer will lead a panel with Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris, Lena Hall, John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask April 16 in the 8 AM hour. The panel will feature never-before-seen photos of Hedwig on Broadway and a backstage tour of the Belasco Theatre, including Harris' and Hall's costumes, wigs and dressing rooms.

Harris will be featured April 17 in the 8 AM hour, discussing his return to Broadway. 

Hedwig and the Angry Inch began previews March 29 at the Belasco Theatre prior to an official opening April 22. The production will continue through Aug. 17.

Hedwig features a book by Mitchell and music and lyrics by Trask. The landmark 1998 musical stars Harris as the titular Hedwig, a transgender singer fronting a fictional rock-n-roll band. Lena Hall, who recently starred as Nicola in Broadway's Tony-winning musical Kinky Boots and is also the lead singer of rock band The Deafening, co-stars with Harris as Yitzhak.

Hedwig is directed by Tony Award winner Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening, American Idiot) with musical staging by Emmy Award nominee Spencer Liff (The Wedding Singer, Cry-Baby). Justin Craig is musical director.  The Hedwig creative team includes scenic designer Julian Crouch, costume designer Arianne Phillips, lighting designer Kevin Adams, hair and makeup designer Mike Potter, sound designer Timothy O'Heir, musical supervisor Ethan Popp, projection designer Benjamin Pearcy and vocal supervisor Liz Caplan. Casting is by James Calleri. 

Adams and Potter were both part of the original 1998 Off-Broadway creative team of Hedwig. Sound designer O'Heir worked on the 2001 film adaptation.

Members of the Angry Inch include musical director Craig (guitar and keyboards), Matt Duncan (bass), Tim Mislock (guitar) and Peter Yanowitz (drums).

Harris has performed on Broadway in Assassins and in the New York Philharmonic production of Company. He has been honored with four Emmy Awards: three for his acclaimed hosting of the Tony Awards and another for his guest-starring role on "Glee." He also served as host and producer of the 61st and 65th Primetime Emmy Awards.

The dramatic musical comedy began Off Off-Broadway at Westbeth and then ran over two years at the Jane Street Theatre beginning in February 1998. Hedwig and the Angry Inch won the Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Off-Broadway Musical, and both John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask won Obies. Hedwig and the Angry Inch won a 1998 New York Magazine Award and Entertainment Weekly's "Soundtrack of the Year" Award.

David Binder, who first produced Hedwig in 1997, is producing the musical on Broadway with Jayne Baron Sherman, Barbara Whitman, Latitude Link, Patrick Catullo, Raise The Roof, Paula Marie Black, Colin Callender, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, Martian Entertainment, Eric Schnall and The Shubert Organization. 101 Productions, Ltd are the executive producers.

A minimum of 20 tickets will be sold via lottery for each performance of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. Standing room tickets are available on the day of the performance when the Belasco Theatre box office opens.

Belasco Theatre is located at 111 West 44th Street. Tickets are also available by calling (212) 239-6200 or visiting Telecharge.com.

For more information, visit HedwigBroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: