Hello, Dolly! Star Bette Midler Will Be Honored by the Drama League | Playbill

Broadway News Hello, Dolly! Star Bette Midler Will Be Honored by the Drama League The stage and screen star will be presented with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award.
Bette Midler
Bette Midler
The Drama League announced that it will honor Grammy and Emmy Award winner Bette Midler, who recently returned to Broadway in the revival of Jerry Herman's Hello, Dolly!, with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award at this year’s Drama League Awards, set for May 19 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway).

Bette Midler
Bette Midler Julieta Cervantes
Midler made her Broadway debut in 1967 in the original production of Fiddler on the Roof, then went on to star in dozens of blockbuster films. Her contributions to the musical form, on both stage and screen, include her acclaimed turn as Rose in Gypsy and her award-winning performances in The Rose, Divine Madness, For The Boys, and Beaches, among many others.

It was previously announced that Bill Berloni will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award, and Tony winner Michael Greif will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

These Special Recognition Honors are in addition to the five competitive categories. The 2017 Drama League nominees for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award will be announced April 19 at 11 AM at Sardi’s (234 West 44th Street).

The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon includes a nominees cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation and will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom May 19.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. The Drama League Awards recognize distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements. The first Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935; since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Lin-Manuel Miranda, Chita Rivera, Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Lane, Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.

For more information about the Drama League Awards, call (212) 244-9494 or visit DramaLeague.org.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!