Henry Hewes Design Awards to Be Held in November; 66 Artists Nominated

News   Henry Hewes Design Awards to Be Held in November; 66 Artists Nominated
Over 60 artists have been nominated for the Henry Hewes Design Awards, which honor designers for their work on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway.
William Ivey Long
William Ivey Long

Categories include Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects, which encompass "sound, music, video, puppetry and other creative elements." All nominated designs must have originated in productions within the U.S.

The Lincoln Center Theater production of The Coast of Utopia received eight nominations, the most for any production of the season past.

Originally titled the Maharam Awards and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, the awards were renamed in 1999 to honor founder Henry Hewes. The 43rd Annual Henry Hewes Awards — supported by the American Theatre Wing — will be presented at a luncheon Nov. 15.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee included theatre critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; David Barbour; Tish Dace; Michael Feingold; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.

The nominees for the 43rd Annual Henry Hewes Awards follow. Scenic Design
Andromache Chalfant, School of the Americas
Anna Louizos, High Fidelity
Anna Louizos, In the Heights
Anthony Ward, Dying City
Beowulf Boritt, LoveMusik
Bob Crowley and Scott Pask, The Coast of Utopia
David Gallo, Company
David Gallo, Radio Golf
David Korins, Essential Self Defense
David Korins, Floyd and Clea Under the Western Sky
David Korins, Jack Goes Boating
David Korins, Spalding Gray: Stories Left to Tell
David Rockwell, Legally Blonde
Derek McLane, The Voysey Inheritance
Eugene Lee, The Hairy Ape
Eugene Lee, The Pirate Queen
John Lee Beatty, Heartbreak House
John Lee Beatty, The House in Town
Mark Wendland, Satellites
Santo Loquasto, Inherit the Wind
Santo Loquasto, Our Leading Lady
Scott Pask, Blackbird
Scott Pask, Pig Farm
Troy Hourie, Marat/Sade

Costume Design
Ann Roth, The Vertical Hour
Catherine Zuber, The Coast of Utopia
Catherine Zuber, The House in Town
Clint Ramos, Madras House
Eric Becker, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
Gregory Gale, The Voysey Inheritance
Jane Greenwood, Heartbreak House
Jane Greenwood, Our Leading Lady
Jennifer von Mayrhauser, The Pain and the Itch
Jess Goldstein, King Lear
Jess Goldstein, The Apple Tree
Judith Dolan, LoveMusik
Karen Perry, Seven Guitars
Kimberly Glennon, Marat/Sade
Marina Draghici, Mother Courage
Martin Pakledinaz, The Pirate Queen
Santo Loquasto, 110 in the Shade
Santo Loquasto, Inherit the Wind
Willa Kim, Adrift in Macao
William Ivey Long, Curtains
William Ivey Long, Losing Louie
William Ivey Long, Regrets Only

Lighting Design
Brian MacDevitt, Inherit the Wind
Brian MacDevitt, Our Leading Lady
Brian MacDevitt, Pig Farm
Brian MacDevitt, The House in Town
Brian MacDevitt, The Vertical Hour
Brian MacDevitt, Kenneth Posner and Natasha Katz, The Coast of Utopia
Christopher Akerlind, 110 in the Shade
Christopher Akerlind, Kaos
Christopher Akerlind, Talk Radio
Donald Holder, Radio Golf
Donald Holder, The Times They Are a-Changin'
Frances Aronson, The Water's Edge
Howell Binkley, LoveMusik
Japhy Weideman, Jack Goes Boating
Jason Lyons, In the Heights
Jonathan Mark, Prometheus Bound
Kenneth Posner, The Pirate Queen
Kevin Adams, Passing Strange
Kevin Adams, Spring Awakening
Paul Gallo, Blackbird
Thomas Hase, Company

Notable Effects
Angelina Avallone (makeup), The Coast of Utopia

Bob Flanagan (puppet design), The Hairy Ape

David Gallo, Radio Golf
(unique contribution to August Wilson’s work)

David Korins, Jack Goes Boating
Japhy Weideman
David Van Tieghem (swimming effect)

Frank Gaeta (sound design), Dai

Garin Marschall (scenery), Hell House
Tyler Micoleau (lighting)
and Bart Fasbender (sound)

Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg (video design), Must Don't Whip ’Um

John Gromada (sound design), Pig Farm

Kevin Cunningham (production design), Losing Something

Mark Bennett (soundscape), The Coast of Utopia

Paul Huntley (wig design), The Coast of Utopia

Ralph Lee (masks and puppets), Valentyne and Orson
Casey Compton (costumes)

Richard Woodbury (sound design), Talk Radio

Robert-Charles Vallance (wig design), Meet Me in St. Louis

Santo Loquasto (rain), 110 in the Shade

Thaddeus Phillips (scenery), ¡El Conquistador!
Jeff Sugg (lighting)
Austin Switser (video)
Jamie McElhinney (sound)

Tom Watson (wigs), Our Leading Lady

Tom Watson (wigs), The Coast of Utopia

William Cusick (projections), The Coast of Utopia

For more information about the American Theatre Wing, visit www.americantheatrewing.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: