He's Loose! Young Frankenstein CD on Sale at Hilton Theatre

News   He's Loose! Young Frankenstein CD on Sale at Hilton Theatre
The Broadway cast album of Young Frankenstein is now on sale in the lobby of the Hilton Theatre, where the Mel Brooks-Thomas Meehan musical is playing. The CDs arrived there the week of Dec. 10.

The lobby retail price is $25. The Decca Broadway release in stores (and online) will be Dec. 26. The CD boasts a bonus track of a song that was cut from the show — "Alone," sung by Megan Mullally.


The starry cast of Young Frankenstein recorded the album Nov. 12, following the musical's Nov. 8 opening.

Doug Besterman, Young Frankenstein's orchestrator, is the recording's producer. Glen Kelly handled music arrangements and supervision, Patrick S. Brady is music director/vocal arranger, John Miller is music coordinator.

Although the new musical at the Hilton Theatre does not feature an overture, Mel Brooks has composed a special overture for the recording, according to Decca. The production stars Tony winner Roger Bart (Dr. Frederick Frankenstein), Megan Mullally (as the doctor's love interest, Elizabeth), Tony winner Sutton Foster (as comely assistant Inga, who sings a number called "Roll in the Hay"), Tony winner Shuler Hensley (The Monster), Tony winner Andrea Martin (as castle matron Frau Blucher), Fred Applegate (as Transylvanian policeman Inspector Kemp, and a Hermit) and Christopher Fitzgerald (as hunchback Igor) with an ensemble that includes Heather Ayers, Jim Borstelmann, Paul Castree, Jennifer Lee Crowl, Jack Doyle, Renée Feder, James Gray, Amy Heggins, Eric Jackson, Kristin Marie Johnson, Matthew LaBanca, Kevin Ligon, Barrett Martin, Linda Mugleston, Christina Marie Norrup, Justin Patterson, Brian Shepard, Sarrah Strimel, Craig Waletzko and Courtney Young.

Susan Stroman directs and choreographs the production, which features a score by Mel Brooks and a book by Thomas Meehan and Brooks.

Song titles include "The Happiest Town," "The Brain," "Please Don't Touch Me," "Together Again," "Roll in the Hay," "Join the Family Business," "He Vas My Boyfriend," "The Law," "Life, Life," "Welcome to Transylvania," "Transylvania Mania," "He's Loose," "Listen to Your Heart," "Surprise," "Please Send Me Someone," "Man About Town," "Puttin' on the Ritz" (music and lyrics by Irving Berlin), "Deep Love," "Frederick's Soliloquy," "Deep Love (reprise)" and "Finale Ultimo."

For more information, visit www.YoungFrankensteinTheMusical.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: