HHTC to Present Thomas Meehan with First Annual Helen Award

News   HHTC to Present Thomas Meehan with First Annual Helen Award
The Helen Hayes Theatre Company, which is currently celebrating its tenth year, will present Tony Award winner Thomas Meehan with the first annual Helen Award Sept. 25.

The evening at the Nyack theatre will also feature a musical celebration of Meehan's work featuring several Broadway performers as well as excerpts from the Helen Hayes Youth Theatre's recent productions. Among those scheduled to attend Gala "10" are Olympia Dukakis, Rupert Holmes, Kathie Lee Gifford, Didi Conn, David Shire, Laura Bell Bundy, Charles Strouse and Loni Ackerman. The black-tie Gala will kick off at 6 PM with a cocktail reception, followed by the 50-minute performance and dancing to the music of Dick Voight and The Big Apple Band.

Thomas Meehan won Tony Awards for Best Book of a Musical for Hairspray (with Mark O'Donnell), The Producers (with Mel Brooks) and Annie. His other book-writing credits include I Remember Mama, Ain’t Broadway Grand and Annie Warbucks. Also an Emmy-winning writer, Meehan has co-written several screenplays, including two with Mel Brooks, “Spaceballs” and “To Be or Not to Be.” He is a member of the Council of the Dramatists Guild.

Tickets, priced at $250 per person, are available by calling (845) 358-2847, ext. 32. The Helen Hayes Theatre Company is located in Nyack, NY at 123 Main Street. Visit www.hhtco.org for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: