In the Heights' Kail and Blankenbuehler Are 2006-2007 Callaway Winners

News   In the Heights' Kail and Blankenbuehler Are 2006-2007 Callaway Winners
The Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers has announced that In the Heights' director and choreographer, Thomas Kail and Andy Blankenbuehler, respectively, are the 2006-2007 recipients of the Joseph A. Callaway Award for excellence in stage craft.

Andy Blankenbuehler and Thomas Kail
Andy Blankenbuehler and Thomas Kail

The Callaway Awards were created in 1989 to honor excellence in directing and choreography for a theatrical season. A committee of SSDC members, the union for professional stage directors and choreographers, considers all professional productions within the five boroughs of Manhattan – Broadway productions and showcases are exempt.

The awards, which include a cash stipend, will be presented Nov. 19 at the Abingdon Theatre during the annual SSDC membership meeting.

In the Heights features a book by Pulitzer Prize finalist Quiara Alegria Hudes, and music and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda. The production, which originally premiered Off-Broadway at 37 Arts, is slated to make a Broadway bow at the Richard Rodgers Theatre in February 2008 with Kail and Blankenbuehler slated to repeat their work. Blankenbuehler won the Drama Desk, Lucille Lortel and the Outer Critics Circle Awards for his choreographic work on In the Heights.

Previous winners of the Callaway Award include Frank Galati (The Grapes of Wrath, Ragtime), Harold Prince (Kiss of the Spider Woman), Susan Stroman (And the World Goes Round), Julie Taymor (The Green Bird), Graciela Daniele (Ragtime), Doug Hughes (Doubt) and Bill T. Jones (Spring Awakening).

Today’s Most Popular News: