Jason Robert Brown to Release New Album of Original Songs | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Jason Robert Brown to Release New Album of Original Songs How We React and How We Recover will feature Brown himself performing 12 new songs that explore the current political climate.
Jason Robert Brown Michael Kushner

Ghostlight Records will release Jason Robert Brown's How We React and How We Recover June 29 in digital and streaming outlets, with a physical release planned for later in 2018. The album is three-time Tony winner Brown's first solo recording in more than a decade, following 2005's Wearing Someone Else's Clothes.

The album aims to explore the evolution of the composer and his response to the current political climate. Brown opens with "Hope," a song he wrote the morning after the 2016 U.S. presidential election. "It's about having hope when you have no reason to be hopeful," shares Brown. "I still have a tough time performing it. It's a very direct expression of a very difficult emotional moment."

The album also features the first studio recording of "A Song About Your Gun," a song Brown has been performing since 2016 in response to mass shootings at Sandy Hook, Pulse Nightclub, and more.



But the album is not entirely political. "Melinda" tells the story of an aspiring salsa musician in 1970s New York City, while "Hallowed Ground" was inspired by Brown seeing his daughter attend the same summer arts camp that he had in his youth. The album's final track, "Wait 'til You See What's Next," was originally written as the finale for Prince of Broadway, the Hal Prince compilation musical that played Broadway's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre in 2017.

How We React and How We Recover is produced by Brown and Jeffrey Lesser, with Stacey Mindich and Kurt Deutsch serving as executive producers.

Take a look at the complete track listing:
1. Hope
2. Melinda
3. Invisible
4. Fifty Years Long
5. Hallowed Ground
6. One More Thing Than I Can Handle (featuring Kate McGarry)
7. All Things in Time
8. A Song About Your Gun
9. Everybody Knows
10. The Hardest Hill
11. Caravan of Angels
12. Wait ‘Til You See What’s Next

Flip Through the Shows of Jason Robert Brown

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!