Jennifer Hudson, "Dreamgirls" and More Honored at NAACP Image Awards

News   Jennifer Hudson, "Dreamgirls" and More Honored at NAACP Image Awards
Jennifer Hudson and the "Dreamgirls" soundtrack were among the winners of the 38th annual NAACP Image Award winners; other winners included stage veterans Chandra Wilson and Vanessa Williams.

Hudson — who earned the Academy Award for her turn as Effie in the movie musical "Dreamgirls" — added to her accolades with a win as Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture (beating out her co-star, Caroline, or Change Tony Award winner Anika Noni Rose). The movie itself lost out to "The Pursuit of Happyness" in the Outstanding Motion Picture category, but earned another win for Outstanding Album.

Chandra Wilson, last seen on Broadway in Caroline, or Change, earned an Image Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for her television role in "Grey's Anatomy." On the comedy side, another stage alum Vanessa Williams (Kiss of the Spider Woman, Into the Woods) took home the TV honor in the Outstanding Supporting Actress for "Ugly Betty." Both series earned their respective category's top prize as well as writing awards.

Actor Hill Harper (Blue, Dogeaters, "Lackawanna Blues") earned two awards in the literature categories for Outstanding Literary Work (by a) Debut Author and Outstanding Literary Work (for) Youth/Teens for his "Letters to a Young Brother."

Established in 1967, the NAACP Image Awards honor "outstanding black actors, actresses, writers, producers and directors." Presented annually, the honors span 36 categories in the varied fields of motion picture, television, music and literature. Among several honorary awards are the Chairman's Award, The President's Award and The Image Awards Hall of Fame.

For more information on the NAACP Image Awards, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: