Jeremy Irons to Receive Will Award in DC, May 16

News   Jeremy Irons to Receive Will Award in DC, May 16
Jeremy Irons will receive the 18th annual William Shakespeare Award for Classical Theatre (the Will Award) in recognition of "his distinguished work in classical theatre."

The prize is given out every year by The Shakespeare Theatre of Washington. Irons will receive the award on May 16 at a gala at the National Building Museum, 440 G Street NW. The Will Award gala benefits The Shakespeare Theatre Free For All, two weeks of free Shakespeare presented by the Theatre each summer at Carter Barron Amphitheatre, as well as other artistic programs.

Past recipients of the award include Dame Judi Dench, Fiona Shaw, Ralph Fiennes, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Dame Maggie Smith, Hal Holbrook, Patrick Stewart, Sam Waterston, Lynn Redgrave, Christopher Walken, Morgan Freeman, Mel Gibson, Kenneth Branagh, Christopher Plummer, Kevin Kline, the late Joseph Papp and Shakespeare Theatre Artistic Director Michael Kahn.

Today’s Most Popular News: