Jez Butterworth’s The Ferryman Begins on Broadway

Broadway News   Jez Butterworth’s The Ferryman Begins on Broadway
The Olivier Award-winning production debuts on Broadway at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre October 2.
Laura Donnelly and Paddy Considine Johan Persson

The Broadway transfer of Jez Butterworth’s West End hit The Ferryman begins previews at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre October 2. Directed by Sam Mendes, the production will officially open October 21.

Laura Donnelly Johan Persson

The Ferryman’s cast, which features most of the play’s acclaimed London company, is led by Paddy Considine as Quinn Carney, Laura Donnelly as Caitlin Carney, Genevieve O’Reilly as Mary Carney, Dean Ashton, Glynis Bell, Peter Bradbury, Trevor Harrison Braun, Sean Frank Coffey, Will Coombs, Gina Costigan, Charles Dale, Justin Edwards, Fra Fee, Fionnula Flanagan, Tom Glynn-Carney, Carly Gold, Cooper Gomes, Holly Gould,Stuart Graham, Mark Lambert, Carla Langley, Matilda Lawler, Conor MacNeill, Michael McArthur, Willow McCarthy, Colin McPhillamy, Rob Malone, Dearbhla Molloy, Bella May Mordus, Griffin Osbourne, Brooklyn Shuck, Metta Mary Sofsky, Glenn Speers, Rafael West Vallés, and Niall Wright.

Set in Northern Ireland in the early 1980s, The Ferryman takes place during the Carney farmhouse's annual harvest celebration and feast. The festivities are halted by the arrival of an unexpected visitor and revelations from the past.

Following a record-breaking, sold-out debut at London's Royal Court Theatre last spring, The Ferryman transferred to the Gielgud Theatre in London’s West End, where it ended its thrice-extended, year-long run in May. The production won three 2018 Olivier Awards, including Best New Play and Best Director, along with a number of Evening Standard Awards and a U.K. Critics’ Circle Award for Best New Play.

The Ferryman’s creative team is made up of Rob Howell (scenic and costume design), Peter Mumford (lighting design), Nick Powell (sound design and original music), Amy Ball CDG (U.K. casting), Jim Carnahan, C.S.A and Jillian Cimini C.S.A. (U.S. casting), Scarlett Mackmin (choreography), Tim Hoare (associate director), Benjamin Endsley Klein (resident director), Campbell Young Associates (hair, wigs, and makeup design), William Berloni (animal trainer), Terry King (U.K. fight director), Thomas Schall (U.S. fight director), Majella Hurley (U.K. dialect coach), and Deborah Hecht (U.S. dialect coach).

The Ferryman is produced on Broadway by Sonia Friedman Productions & Neal Street Productions with Ronald Frankel, Gavin Kalin Productions, Roy Furman and Ben Lowy, Scott M. Delman, Stephanie P. McClelland, Tulchin Bartner Productions, Ron Kastner, Starry Night Entertainment, Kallish Weinstein Creative, Scott Landis,Steve Traxler, Richard Winkler, Rona Delves Broughton/William Damaschke, 1001 Nights, Burnt Umber Productions, Rupert Gavin, Scott Rudin, Jamie deRoy and Catherine Adler, Sam Levy and Lauren Stevens, and Ramin Sabi and Christopher Ketner.

For more information visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News