Jimmy Awards' 10th Anniversary Reunion Concert Will Be Live Streamed

Cabaret & Concert News   Jimmy Awards' 10th Anniversary Reunion Concert Will Be Live Streamed
Frozen's Patti Murin will join Jimmy Awards alums—including stars from Dear Evan Hansen and Wicked—for the special event.
Jimmy_Awards_2018_Jimmys Awards Nominees 2018. H.McGee Photo_HR.jpg
The 2018 Jimmys Awards nominees Henry McGee/NHSMTA

The Broadway League will celebrate ten years of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, affectionately called the Jimmy Awards after the late Broadway producer and theatre owner James M. Nederlander, with a special reunion event.

Patti Murin Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Featuring a special guest appearance from Frozen star Patti Murin and performances from alumni representing every year the Jimmy Awards have been held, the event is set to be streamed on Facebook Live at beginning at 7:30 PM ET January 14.

The alumni currently scheduled to appear include Erica Durham (The Color Purple national tour), Andrew Barth Feldman (Dear Evan Hansen), Marla Louissaint (Beautiful national tour), Ryan McCartan (Heathers The Musical, Wicked), Nathan Salstone (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), and Josh Strobl (Dear Evan Hansen). Jimmys arranger and conductor Michael Moricz is providing arrangements for the event.

Founded in 2009, the Jimmy Awards ceremony aims to raise the profile of musical theatre in schools, recognizing dedicated educators and inspiring the next generation of performers and enthusiasts. Student finalists, chosen from more than 40 regional programs across the country, are sent to New York for a week-long even in June that sees the young performers working with industry professionals to put on a Broadway-style awards show at a Broadway theatre. Two winners are selected from these finalists annually.

Since the program's inception, its participants have earned more than $2 million in university and conservatory scholarships. Several students have already gone on to be cast in Broadway, touring, and West End productions. Additional alumni include Kyle Selig (Mean Girls), Eva Noblezada (Miss Saigon), and Jai'Len Josey (SpongeBob SquarePants).

The 11th annual Jimmy Awards is scheduled for Monday, June 24 at 7:30 PM at the Minskoff Theatre. Tickets will go on sale later this year.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: