Joel Grey, Stephen Daldry and More Will Be Honored at Drama League Awards | Playbill

News Joel Grey, Stephen Daldry and More Will Be Honored at Drama League Awards
The Drama League will recognize three stage luminaries at this year’s 81st Annual Drama League Awards, scheduled for May 15 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway).

Tony and Oscar winner Joel Grey will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; WNET's Neal Shapiro and David Horn will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award for their "vital work in bringing New York theater to viewers across America"; and Tony, Drama Desk and Olivier Award winner Stephen Daldry will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

Joel Grey
Joel Grey

"Although we are technically the ones bestowing these honors, it feels like they are actually honoring us," remarked executive director Gabriel Shanks. "We are thrilled to welcome Stephen Daldry back to Broadway with Skylight and The Audience, two decades after he made his Tony-winning debut with An Inspector Calls. WNET is America’s window into our art form; with Great Performances, NYC Arts, Shakespeare Uncovered, and Theatre Close-Up, among many others, they bring New York theatre into the living rooms of millions across the country. I’m perhaps most thrilled, however, to honor our dear friend, the legendary Joel Grey. Take your pick: Cabaret, George M!, Chicago, Wicked, Anything Goes, The Normal Heart, or his many other Broadway triumphs. Mr. Grey is indisputably one of the greats of the American theatre."

These Special Recognition Honors are in addition to the five competitive categories. The 2015 Drama League Nominees for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical and the Distinguished Performance Award will be announced April 21 at 11 AM at Sardi’s.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatregoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Tickets for the 81st Annual Drama League Awards, which includes pre-event cocktails and the star-studded afternoon luncheon ceremony, are available by calling (212) 244-9494 or by visiting

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!