Jonathan Cake and J. Smith-Cameron Named Recipients of Actors' Equity Joe A. Callaway Award

News   Jonathan Cake and J. Smith-Cameron Named Recipients of Actors' Equity Joe A. Callaway Award
Arne Gundersen, president of Actors' Equity Foundation, announced Dec. 5 that Jonathan Cake and J. Smith-Cameron have been selected to receive the 2013 Joe A. Callaway Award.

J. Smith-Cameron
J. Smith-Cameron Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Award, established by Equity member Joe A. Callaway, "encourages participation in the classics and non-profit theatre and honors the best performance in a professional production of a classic play (one written prior to 1920) in the New York metropolitan area," according to press notes.

The Callaway Award, which includes a $1,000 check plus a crystal plaque for each recipient, will be presented at Equity’s Eastern Regional Membership meeting Jan. 10, 2014, at the Equity offices.

Cake was cited for his performance as Benedick in the Theatre for a New Audience production of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. On Broadway Cake has appeared in The Philanthropist, Cymbeline and Medea, for which he received a Theatre World Award.

Smith-Cameron was recognized for her performance in the title role of the Irish Rep’s production of Sean O’Casey’s Juno and the Paycock. Her Broadway productions include Crimes of the Heart, Lend Me a Tenor, Our Country’s Good (for which she received a Tony Award nomination for Best Featured Actress), Tartuffe, Night Must Fall and After the Night and the Music.

The judges panel included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill; and David Rosenberg,

Previous recipients of the Callaway Award include Kate Burton, Frank Langella, Laura Linney, Lily Rabe, Liev Schreiber and, in 2012, Merritt Wever and Michael Shannon.

Today’s Most Popular News: