José Ferrer and Bob Fosse to Be Commemorated on USPS "Forever Stamps"

News   José Ferrer and Bob Fosse to Be Commemorated on USPS "Forever Stamps"
Five-time Tony Award winner José Ferrer and legendary nine-time Tony-winning director-choreographer Bob Fosse will be honored by the United States Postal Service on 2012 "Forever" stamps.

The Bob Fosse stamp
The Bob Fosse stamp

Ferrer, the actor-writer-director and producer, who earned acclaim for his performance of Cyrano de Bergerac on stage and screen, is commemorated in a portrait by artist Daniel Adel. 

The USPS has announced a series of "Innovative Choreographer" stamps that will include Fosse (Chicago, Damn Yankees, Pippin, Dancin', "Cabaret"), Isadora Duncan, José Limón and Katherine Dunham. The choreographer portraits were painted by James McMullan, known for his artwork for Lincoln Center Theater. Fosse is depicted on the set of "Sweet Charity."

A date of issuance for the stamps has not been announced.

In April 2011 the USPS announced that it would honor First Lady of the American Theatre, Helen Hayes, on a "Forever" stamp. Also commemorated are filmmakers Billy Wilder ("Sunset Boulevard," "The Apartment"), John Huston ("The African Queen"), Frank Capra ("Mr. Smith Goes to Washington") and John Ford ("The Searchers").

Today’s Most Popular News: