Josh Groban, Eva Noblezada, and More Among 2017 Theatre World Award Honorees | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Josh Groban, Eva Noblezada, and More Among 2017 Theatre World Award Honorees The awards recognize outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway debut performances.
Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Theatre World Awards have announced the 2017 honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance. Recipients will be honored at a June 5 ceremony at the Imperial Theatre.

Katrina Lenk Marc J. Franklin

Among the recipients are Anastasia star Christy Altomare, The Great Comet’s Josh Groban, Denée Benton, and Amber Gray, and Miss Saigon leads Eva Noblezada and Jon Jon Briones. The Dorothy Loudon Foundation Award for Excellence in Theatre will go to Katrina Lenk for her performances in both Indecent and The Band’s Visit.

The complete list of 2017 Theatre World Award honorees also includes Carlo Albán (Sweat), Barrett Doss (Groundhog Day), Lucas Hedges (Yen), Raymond Lee(Vietgone), Jeremy Secomb (Sweeney Todd), and Cobie Smulders (Present Laughter).

Glenn Close will also be honored with the 5th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre; Great Comet composer Dave Malloy will be presented with the Special Theatre World Award in recognition of his Broadway debut as composer, writer, lyricist, orchestrator, and actor.

The 73rd Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony will be held June 5 at the Imperial Theatre (249 West 45th Street) at 6:30 PM. The evening will be hosted by theatre journalist Peter Filichia.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!