Kazan and Esper Win Equity's Clarence Derwent Awards

News   Kazan and Esper Win Equity's Clarence Derwent Awards
Zoe Kazan and Michael Esper have won the 63rd annual Clarence Derwent Awards that are presented by the Actors' Equity Foundation to honor "the most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene."
Zoe Kazan and Michael Esper
Zoe Kazan and Michael Esper Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Each will receive $2,000 and an engraved crystal trophy at a ceremony that will be held June 10 in Manhattan at Equity's Eastern Regional Board meeting. Kazan was recognized for her performance in three different productions during the past season: She made her Broadway debut in Come Back, Little Sheba, and earlier in the season was seen in The New Group's Things We Want and in Playwrights Horizons' 100 Saints You Should Know.

Esper was honored for his performance in Playwrights Horizons' production of Crazy Mary. His other Off-Broadway credits include The Four of Us, Manic Flight Reaction, SubUrbia and Big Bill. Esper also appeared in the world premiere of Edward Albee's Me, Myself and I at the McCarter Theatre.

Established in 1944 by actor and former Actors' Equity Association President Clarence Derwent, The Derwent Awards are among the oldest awards on Broadway. Past recipients include Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Calista Flockhart, Gene Hackman, Dana Ivey, John Malkovich, Ann Reinking, George C. Scott, Frances Sternhagen, Gene Wilder and James Woods. Leslie Kritzer (Legally Blonde) and Lin-Manuel Miranda (In the Heights) were last year's winners.

This year's judges panel included Irene Backalenick, Back Stage; Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out NY; Harry Haun, Playbill; Michael Kuchwara, Associated Press; David Rosenberg, Back Stage; and Michael Sommers, The Star Ledger.

Today’s Most Popular News: