Kevin Gray, Natalie Hill, Rodney Hicks, Shannon Tyo to Star in Salt Lake Miss Saigon

News   Kevin Gray, Natalie Hill, Rodney Hicks, Shannon Tyo to Star in Salt Lake Miss Saigon
Pioneer Theatre Company in Salt Lake City has snagged Kevin Gray, a veteran of North American companies of Miss Saigon to play the oily Engineer in its resident production of the pop musical by Alain Boublil, Claude-Michel Schonberg and Richard Maltby Jr.
Kevin Gray
Kevin Gray

Karen Azenberg directs and choreographs the new production, to run May 1-16 in Utah. Her cast includes Gray (Broadway's The Phantom of the Opera, The King and I and Jesus Christ Superstar), Shannon Tyo as Kim, Rodney Hicks (Rent) as John, Natalie Hill (Broadway's recent Grease) as Ellen, Kelvin Moon Loh as Thuy and Josh Rouah (Broadway's recent Grease) as Chris.

The musical inspired by Madama Butterfly and set during the Vietnam era is by the same team that created the international smash Les Misérables, which was a also a major hit for PTC when it staged its own production of it.

Miss Saigon will play Simmons Pioneer Memorial Theatre, 300 South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT.

Gray starred as Scar in the national tour of The Lion King. Prior to that, Gray toured the United Kingdom as The King in the King and I, reprising his role from the Broadway revival of Rodgers and Hammerstein's classic, in which he became only the third actor in history to play the role on Broadway. Gray starred as Pontius Pilate in the Broadway revival of Jesus Christ Superstar, and starred in Harold Prince's production of Show Boat as Gaylord Ravenal. He played Miss Saigon's Engineer in the Los Angeles and Toronto, receiving the Dora Mavor Moore and Dramalogue awards for his performance. He is heard in the "The Complete Miss Saigon," recorded in London.

The PTC cast includes Alan Ariano, Billy Bustamante, Marcus Calderon, Ashley Gardner Carlson, Lindsay Gee, Matt Gibson, Nam Holtz, Naomi Hubert, Colin Israel, Eric Jackson, Jack Leahy, Doan Mackenzie, Mel Sagrado Maghuyop, Thomas Marcus, Rhett Richins, Enrico Rodriguez, Teague Orlando Salazar, Jen Sese, Daniel T. Simons, Jeffrey Scott Stevens, Victoria To, Kory Yamada. The artistic team includes musical director Edward G. Robinson, set designer George Maxwell, costume designer K.L. Alberts, lighting designer Karl Haas, sound designer Joe Payne, wig and make-up designer Amanda French, production stage manager Jeffrey Stewart Williams and stage manager Danny Kuenzel.


Today’s Most Popular News: