Khris Davis Wins Clive Barnes Award for Theatre | Playbill

News Khris Davis Wins Clive Barnes Award for Theatre The Sweat and Royale actor has been awarded the seventh annual prize.
Khris Davis Bruce Glikas/FilmMagic

The Clive Barnes Foundation has announced that Khris Davis has won the Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theatre and that Indiana Woodward has won the Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Dance. The announcement was made at a ceremony at The Walter Reade Theatre at Lincoln Center January 9.

Davis was awarded the prize for his performance as historic African-American boxer Jack Johnson in the Lincoln Center production of Marco Ramirez’s The Royale. The actor was last seen on the New York stage in the Public Theater’s acclaimed production of Sweat by Lynn Nottage, set to transfer to Broadway this spring. Casting for the Broadway production has not yet been announced, though the original Off-Broadway cast is expected to make the jump—which would mark Davis’ Broadway debut. His other credits include Colossal with Dallas Theater Center, Bill Durham at Alliance Theater, Love in Afghanistan at Arena Stage, Ruined with Philadelphia Theatre Company, and in Antigone, Othello and Arms and the Man and Wind in the Willows with Quintessence Theatre Group.


In the theatre category, Davis was nominated alongside Spamilton’s Juwan Crawley and Nora Schell, and Timothee Chamalet, the young breakout star from MTC’s staging of The Prodigal Son. The other Dance nominees were Elena D’Amario of Parsons Dance, Spartak Hoxha of New York City Ballet, and Andrea Torita of BalletX.

All finalists received a cash prize, while the winners received an award of $5,000.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009, in honor of theatre critic Clive Barnes, to create annual awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals.

The finalists were nominated by a committee comprised of critics and performers in each field. This year’s panel included William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.

Popular Features This Week

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!