Kitt, LaChiusa, Horne and Lopez Nab Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards

News   Kitt, LaChiusa, Horne and Lopez Nab Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards
Stage veteran Eartha Kitt is among the theatre folk who were honored with Emmy Awards for their work on daytime television.
Eartha Kitt
Eartha Kitt Photo by David Turner/Studio D

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards were handed out in New York June 13 at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center. The 35th annual Daytime Emmy Awards will be presented at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood June 20. ABC will broadcast the awards live at 8 PM ET. Kitt earned her second Emmy Award for Outstanding Performer in an Animated Program for portraying Yzma in the Disney series "The Emperor's New School."

Theatre writers honored during the evening included Michael John LaChiusa, Larry Hochman, Jeffrey Lesser, Billy Lopez, Martin Erkskine, J. Walter Hawkes and Bobby Lopez, all of whom earned an Emmy Award for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for Nickelodeon's "The Wonder Pets!"

Also honored was Lance Horne (Three Lost Chords) for Outstanding Original Song for his song "Chemistry," which was featured on ABC's "One Life to Live."

Kitt, who is currently playing New York's Cafe Carlyle, starred in Kander and Ebb's All About Us, a musical based on the Thornton Wilder work The Skin of Our Teeth, which was presented at the Westport Country Playhouse. She is a three-time Tony nominee for her work in Mrs. Patterson in 1955, Timbuktu! in 1978 and Michael John LaChiusa's The Wild Party in 2000.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: