La Mirada Theatre Leads in Nominations for L.A. Ovation Awards

News   La Mirada Theatre Leads in Nominations for L.A. Ovation Awards
The 27th annual awards will be announced January 17.
2015 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards
2015 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards

La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts leads the pack with 22 nominations for the 27th Annual L.A. STAGE Alliance Ovation Awards, which honor the best in Los Angeles-area live theatre.

The awards ceremony will take place January 17, 2017, at the Ahmanson Theatre at The Music Center.

La Mirada Theatre earned 22 nominations for their productions of American Idiot (7), First Date (7), Dreamgirls (4), and Empire (4).

Center Theatre Group follows with 20 nominations for their productions of Endgame (10) and Women Laughing Alone with Salad (1) at the Kirk Douglas Theatre; Father Comes Home from the Wars, Parts 1, 2 & 3 (6 nominations) at the Mark Taper Forum; and Grey Gardens (2) and A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder (1) at the Ahmanson Theatre.

Geffen Playhouse received 18 nominations for their productions of Guards at the Taj (7), Barcelona (6), Outside Mullingar (2), These Paper Bullets! A Modish Ripoff of William Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing (1), Big Sky (1), and Best Season (1).

See a complete list of the nominations here.

Ovation Honors, which recognize outstanding achievement in areas that are not among the standard list of nomination categories, were awarded to Gregory Nabours (Music Composition for a Play, The Sparrow at Coeurage Theatre Company); Edgar Landa (Fight Choreography, Son of Semele Ensemble’s That Pretty Pretty; or, The Rape Play); and Greg Ballora, Sean Cawelti, Christine Papalexis, Jack Pullman, and Brian White (Puppet Design, Woody Boy Long Fish at Bootleg Theater).

For the 2015-16 voting season, there are a grand total of 214 nominations for 70 productions presented by 45 companies.

Founded in 1989, the L.A. STAGE Alliance Ovation Awards are the only peer-judged theatre awards in Los Angeles. Voters are Los Angeles theatre professionals who are chosen each year, through an application process, by the Ovation Rules Committee. This year’s Ovation Awards eligibility period ran from August 31, 2015-August 28, 2016.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: