Lainie Kazan, Maurice Hines, T. Oliver Reid, Justin Vivian Bond and More Receive 2013 Bistro Awards March 4

News   Lainie Kazan, Maurice Hines, T. Oliver Reid, Justin Vivian Bond and More Receive 2013 Bistro Awards March 4
The 28th annual Bistro Awards Gala, which celebrates outstanding achievement in New York cabaret and jazz, is held March 4 at the Gotham Comedy Club. Tony Award nominees Lainie Kazan and Maurice Hines are among the 2013 honorees.

T. Oliver Reid
T. Oliver Reid

Comedian and actor Jim David hosts the awards ceremony, which begins at 6:30 PM. Directed by Shellen Lubin and produced by Sherry Eaker, the show also includes performances from Bistro-winning artists.

Marilyn Maye will present Kazan (My Favorite Year) with the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award, and Dee Dee Bridgewater will present Hines (Uptown…It's Hot!) with the honor for his Enduring Artistry. Also honored at the Bistro Awards will be Clint Holmes and Sue Raney for their major engagements at the Café Carlyle and Feinstein's at Loews Regency, respectively.

Other award winners include Jenifer Lewis for Dazzling Return to New York Cabaret; Broadway and symphony conductor Barry Levitt for Ongoing Musical Excellence; Mx. Justin Vivian Bond for Singular Artistry; Alec Mapa for Comedy Monology for Baby Daddy; Michael Hughes for Debut with Mickey and Judy; T. Oliver Reid for Theme Show for "Drop Me Off in Harlem"; Moira Danis for Recording for "Some People's Lives"; and Catherine Russell for Recording for "Strictly Romancin'."

Two special awards will be presented to Jack Kleinsinger, whose concert series "Highlights in Jazz" has been presenting major jazz performers for 41 seasons, and to Ben Rimalower, the writer and performer of the solo play Patti Issues, which has been extended multiple times at the Duplex.

The Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award, given to an outstanding performer on the rise, and named after Back Stage's co-founder, co-publisher and first cabaret critic, will be given to Liam Forde. Also honored are Tanya Holt as Vocalist, Deanna Kirk as Jazz Vocalist and Mary Liz McNamara as Songwriter, and other presenters include Nikki Blonsky, Lee Summers and Larry Moss. 

The Bistro Award was established by Bob Harrington in 1985; this year marks the sixth year at Gotham Comedy Club.

The Gotham Comedy Club is located at 208 West 23rd Street (between 7th and 8th avenues). For more information and tickets, call (646) 637-2806 or (917) 239-5467 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: