Lane and Broderick Return to Producers Dec. 30 for 112 Perfs; Tix On Sale Nov. 16

News   Lane and Broderick Return to Producers Dec. 30 for 112 Perfs; Tix On Sale Nov. 16
Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick return to Broadway's The Producers Dec. 30, in the title roles they created in 2001. Tickets go on sale starting noon Nov. 16.

Nathan Lane (top) and Matthew Broderick
Nathan Lane (top) and Matthew Broderick

Lane and Broderick play the St. James Theatre only through April 4, 112 performances only, the producers announced.

They step into the show 7 PM Dec. 30. Tickets are scaled at $30-$100, and are on sale by phone and online through at (212) 239-6200, and in-person at The St. James Theatre Box Office, 246 West 44th Street.

The return of Lane and Broderick had been expected; both actors had talked publicly about going back into the show around Jan. 1, 2004, but this is the first official word of exact dates and length of run.

Recent reports have characterized the smash-hit show as a box office disappointment two years into its run. According to box office information provided by the League of American Theatres and Producers, the show was at 69.4 percent of capacity the week of Oct. 27-Nov. 2.

Tickets for the 112 performances with Lane and Broderick are expected to sell out within hours. Coinciding with the return of Tony Award nominee Broderick (who created the stage role of nebbishy Leo Bloom, would-be producer) and Lane (who won a Tony Award as corrupt impresario Max Bialystock in the Mel Brooks musical) is the return of Roger Bart in the role of Carmen Ghia, the swishy assistant and partner of flamboyant director Roger DeBris (played by Tony winner Gary Beach).

The Producers will continue to star John Treacy Egan (Franz Liebkind) and Angie Schworer (Ulla). Original Broadway cast member Brad Oscar will stand by for the role of Max Bialystock, and Roger Bart will stand by for the role of Leo Bloom.

The cast also includes Jim Borstelmann, Jennifer Paige Chambers, Angie C. Creighton, Madeleine Doherty, Bryn Dowling, Kathy Fitzgerald, Robert H. Fowler, Adrienne Gibbons, Eric Gunhus, Kimberly Hester, Stacey Todd Holt, Naomi Kakuk, Matt Loehr, Peter Marinos, Mike McGowan, Larry Raben, Jason Patrick Sands, Jennifer Smith, Jenny-Lynn Suckling, Wendy Waring and Courtney Young.

Mark Lotito, an understudy Max who has played various roles in the show since spring, leaves the company to play Avram and understudy Alfred Molina as Tevye in the new Broadway revival of Fiddler on the Roof.

The Producers opened on Broadway April 19, 2001 and went on to win the most Tonys won by one show — 12 awards.

The Producers is produced by Rocco Landesman; Clear Channel Entertainment; The Frankel * Baruch * Viertel * Routh Group; Bob and Harvey Weinstein; Rick Steiner; Robert F.X. Sillerman and Mel Brooks, in association with James D. Stern/Douglas Meyer and by special arrangement with StudioCanal.

The show has a Tony Award-winning book by Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan (based on the 1968 Mel Brooks movie), Tony Award-winning music and lyrics by Mel Brooks, and is directed and choreographed by five-time Tony Award winner Susan Stroman.


The Producers playing schedule is Tuesday evenings at 7 PM, Wednesday-Saturday at 8 PM, Wednesday and Saturday matinees at 2 PM and Sunday matinees at 3 PM.

The New Year's Eve performance of The Producers at 7 PM on Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003 will be followed by a gala New Year's Eve celebration. Immediately following the performance, ticket-holders for this special event will enjoy dinner in the spacious, all glass lobby of the Minskoff Theatre, which directly overlooks the heart of Times Square and offers a spectacular view of the New Year's Eve festivities. To inquire about tickets for both the New Year's Eve performance and for the gala celebration, call Telecharge at (212) 239-6200 beginning Nov. 16.

Prior to Nov. 16, American Express Gold Card holders can buy tickets before anyone else, Nov. 9-15.

Today’s Most Popular News: