Larry Kramer Is Recipient of 2013 Isabelle Stevenson Award

News   Larry Kramer Is Recipient of 2013 Isabelle Stevenson Award
The Normal Heart playwright Larry Kramer has been named the 2013 recipient of the Isabelle Stevenson Award, the Tony Awards Administration Committee announced April 29.

Larry Kramer
Larry Kramer Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Kramer will be presented with the honor during the 67th annual Tony Awards ceremony on June 9 at Radio City Music Hall.

Kramer's landmark 1985 play The Normal Heart, which chronicles the dawn of New York City's AIDS crisis, received its Broadway debut in 2011, taking home the 2011 Tony Award for Best Revival of a Play.

Read's interview with Kramer here.

Kramer is being recognized for his work as the co-founder of Gay Men's Health Crisis – the world's first HIV/AIDS service organization. He is also the founder of ACT UP, the international network of activists responsible for the development/release of most HIV/AIDS treatments.

The Isabelle Stevenson Award, according to the Tony Awards, recognizes an "individual from the theatre community who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations, regardless of whether such organizations relate to the theatre." Previous honorees include  Phyllis Newman, David Hyde Pierce, Eve Ensler and Bernadette Peters.

A screen adaptation of The Normal Heart will begin filming in June, with Julia Roberts, Joe Mantello, Mark Ruffalo and Jonathan Groff among the cast. Read about it here.

Kramer's plays also include Sissies Scrapbook, Just Say No, The Destiny of Me and A Minor Dark Age. His written works include "Reports from the holocaust: the making of an AIDS activist," "The Tragedy of Todays Gays," as well as the novel "Faggots," and his forthcoming work "The American People." He will be the subject of an 2014 HBO documentary that will coincide with the screen release of The Normal Heart.

Today’s Most Popular News: