Lauren Bacall to Receive Honorary Academy Award

News   Lauren Bacall to Receive Honorary Academy Award
The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to producer-executive John Calley, and Honorary Awards to actress Lauren Bacall, producer-director Roger Corman and cinematographer Gordon Willis.
Lauren Bacall
Lauren Bacall

All four awards will be presented at the Academy's inaugural Governors Awards event Nov. 14 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center. Academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement, "These four individuals have each, in their own unique way, made lasting impressions on the motion picture industry and audiences worldwide. I’m thrilled that the Academy’s Board selected them to be honored at our new Governors Awards event, which will be full of memorable moments celebrating their accomplishments."

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given to an individual for "extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy."

Lauren Bacall was last on Broadway in Waiting in the Wings. She earned Tony Awards for her performances in the Broadway musicals Applause and Woman of the Year and also appeared in Goodbye Charlie and Cactus Flower. Among her celebrated screen credits are "To Have and Have Not," "The Big Sleep," "Key Largo," "How to Marry a Millionaire," "Written on the Wind," "The Mirror Has Two Faces," and "Dogville."

Today’s Most Popular News: