Lea DeLaria Salutes David Bowie on New Solo Recording Out Today

News   Lea DeLaria Salutes David Bowie on New Solo Recording Out Today
Lea DeLaria, the Broadway artist who can currently be seen on the hit Netflix series "Orange Is the New Black," releases her latest solo recording, "House of David: delaria + bowie = jazz," digitally June 23 on the Ghostlight Records label.

The new recording, which reexamines the work of music icon David Bowie, will arrive in stores July 24.

"House of David" is produced by Matt Pierson with Jeremy Katz serving as executive producer. To pre-order visit sh-k-boom.com/houseofdavid.

“Bowie is not only a god of rock and arbiter of style, but he’s THE defining singer songwriter of the latter part of the 20th century,” DeLaria said in a statement. “From ‘Suffragette City’ to Labyrinth through Ziggy Stardust and The Hunger, his bold career choices and mind blowing artistic technique flies in the face of convention. He is quite simply a legend. David’s music lends itself perfectly to the language of Jazz. I hope he sees this album as the tribute to his genius that I mean it to be. LONG LIVE DAVID BOWIE.”

"House of David" features Kevin Hays on piano and keyboards, Tony Scherr on bass and guitar, Steve Cardenas on guitar, Kenny Wollesen on drums and vibes, Seamus Blake on saxophones, Bashiri Johnson on percussion, Shedrick Mitchell on Hammond B3 and special featured vocalist Janis Siegel.

The track listing follows:

1) Fame
2) Space Oddity
3) Golden Years
4) Suffragette City (duet with Janis Siegel)
5) Starman
6) Boys Keep Swinging
7) Rebel Rebel
8) Let’s Dance
9) Life on Mars
10) Jean Genie
11) Modern Love
12) Young Americans


For other recordings and theatrical merchandise, visit The Playbill Store.

Today’s Most Popular News: