League of Professional Theatre Women Honors Zoe Caldwell, Judith Dolan and More at Awards Ceremony March 10

News   League of Professional Theatre Women Honors Zoe Caldwell, Judith Dolan and More at Awards Ceremony March 10
The League of Professional Theatre Women holds its 2014 Awards Celebration & Big Mingle Reception March 10.

Zoe Caldwell
Zoe Caldwell Photo by Krissie Fullerton

The Awards, which are presented at The Irene Diamond Stage at the Pershing Square Signature Center, honor Zoe Caldwell, Judith Dolan, Joanna Sherman, Sondra Gorney, Meiyin Wang and Katherine Kovner. Tamara Tune emcees the event. 

Tony Award winner Caldwell (Master Class, Medea) is presented with The Lifetime Achievement Award by Tony Award winner Audra McDonald (Porgy and Bess, A Raisin in the Sun).

The Ruth Morley Design Award is presented by Gregory Boyd to Dolan, a Tony Award-winning costume designer. The award, which was initiated in 1998 in honor of costume designer Morley, is given annually to an outstanding female theatre designer in the field of costumes, scenery, lighting or special effects.

Mary Miko presents a one-time special award to honor actor, author and League member Gorney for her dedication to the values and the mission of the League of Professional Theatre Women.

In April 1999 the LPTW received a bequest from the Lucille Lortel estate to establish a fund which would be given annually to "an aspiring woman in any discipline of theatre who is showing great creative promise and deserves recognition and encouragement." This year's award is given to Kovner, artistic director of The Playwrights Realm, by Leigh Silverman.  The Lee Reynolds Award is presented by Cynthia P. Schneider to Sherman, artistic director of Bond Street Theatre. The award, given in memory of producer and League member Lee Reynolds, is presented annually to a woman or women active in any aspect of theatre whose work through the medium of theatre has helped to illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural or political change.

The Abady Award is given in memory of Josephine R. Abady, a stage and artistic director, and leader of the nonprofit theatre movement in the United States. The award, which is given annually to a female emerging theatre artist who has created work of cultural diversity, goes to Wang, director of the Devised Theater initiative and co-director of the Under the Radar Festival at The Public Theater. She is presented with the award by Susan Feldman.

The Gilder/Coigney International Theatre Award, which was established in 2011, is given to Patricia Ariza of Colombia. Ariza has brought about social change and a greater recognition of the rights of women through her work as a theatre director, playwright, dramaturg and producer. Ariza will be presented with the award at a special event Oct. 27 at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center/CUNY in NYC.

In connection to the Awards, LPTW is running an online auction, which continues through March 13. Bids can be made at BiddingforGood.com. Special prizes include tickets to the new Broadway production of Terrence McNally’s Mothers and Sons, starring Tyne Daly, including a backstage tour and a meeting with Daly after the show. Prizes also include tickets to the Tony Award-winning musical Kinky Boots tickets, as well as a backstage tour. 

The League of Professional Theatre Women is a not-for-profit organization committed to promoting visibility and increasing opportunities for women in the professional theatre. 

Tickets to the awards ceremony are available by visiting brownpapertickets.com/event/567322.

Today’s Most Popular News: