Leslie Uggams and Cleavant Derricks Are NAACP Theatre Award Nominees | Playbill

Related Articles
News Leslie Uggams and Cleavant Derricks Are NAACP Theatre Award Nominees Leslie Uggams, Cleavant Derricks, Ann Duquesnay and Francesca Zambello are among the 2010 NAACP Theatre Award nominees, which were announced in Los Angeles July 26.
Leslie Uggams

The 20th annual NAACP Theatre Awards will be presented Aug. 30 at the Director's Guild of America in Hollywood. LisaRaye McCoy will host. Among the distinguished honorees are Kenny Leon (Trailblazer Award), Wren T. Brown (Community Service Award) and Kim Sentovich (President’s Award). The awards "honor thespians of color among the best in the field of entertainment."

Highlights of the NAACP Theatre Awards follow:

Best Producer— Equity
The First Wives Club – The Old Globe
Eclipsed – Center Theatre Group
Sammy – The Old Globe

Best Ensemble Cast— Equity
Sarafina! A story of Liberation

Best Lead Female— Equity
Monty Python’s Spamalot – Marle Dandridge
Stormy Weather – Nikki Crawford
Stormy Weather – Leslie Uggams

Best Supporting Male— Equity
The Cherry Orchard – Marc Ewing
Stormy Weather – Phillip Attmore
Stormy Weather – Cleavant Derricks

Best Supporting Female— Equity
Baby It’s You! – Erica Ash
Baby It’s You! – Berlando Drake
Sammy – Ann Duquesnay

Best Director of a Musical— Equity
The First Wives Club – Francesca Zambello
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation – Stephan Terry
Sammy – Keith Glover

Best Choreographer—Equity
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Cassie Crump and Alfred Johnson
Baby It’s You!—Brigitte Mutrux
Sammy—Keith Young

Best Lead Male—Equity
The First Wives Club—Kevyn Morrow
Sammy—Obba Babatubde
The Cherry Orchard—Steven Matt

Best Playwright—Equity
Eclipsed—Danai Gurira
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Mbongeni Mgema
Sammy—Leslie Bricusse

Best Director—Equity
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Denise Dowse
Eclipsed—Robert O’Hara
Black Women—State of the Union—Nataki Garrett and Ayana Cahrr

For a complete list of nominees visit BHWDNAACP.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!