Linda Lavin Will Join John Lloyd Young to Announce Drama Desk Award Nominations

News   Linda Lavin Will Join John Lloyd Young to Announce Drama Desk Award Nominations
Tony Award winners Linda Lavin and John Lloyd Young will announce the nominations for the 2013 Drama Desk Awards April 29 at 54 Below. As previously reported, the awards ceremony will take place May 19 at 8 PM at The Town Hall.

John Lloyd Young
John Lloyd Young Photo by Larry Gomez

Lavin (The Lyons, Other Desert Cities) steps in for the previously announced Jan Maxwell (Follies, Coram Boy). Young is known for originating the role of Frankie Valli in the Broadway production of Jersey Boys.

The Drama Desk Award nominations were originally scheduled to be announced April 26; however, they will now be revealed April 29 at 11 AM at 54 Below.

The May 19 awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (co-founder and artistic director of Transport Group). Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show.

Gretchen Shugart is managing executive producer of Drama Desk Awards. The president of Drama Desk is Isa Goldberg. Randie Levine Miller is director of special events.

Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theatre artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. Drama Desk Awards are voted on and bestowed by theatre critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theatre "without any vested interest in the results.”

The 2012-13 Drama Desk Nominating Committee comprises Barbara Siegel, Chairperson ( and freelance); David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theater Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts) and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: