Lindsay Mendez and Marco Paguia's Debut Jazz Album, "This Time," Released May 28

News   Lindsay Mendez and Marco Paguia's Debut Jazz Album, "This Time," Released May 28
Wicked's Lindsay Mendez and music director and jazz pianist Marco Paguia release their debut jazz vocal album, "This Time," May 28.

Lindsay Mendez
Lindsay Mendez

The 13-song collection offers an eclectic mix of songs, reimagining tracks from popular music and blending elements of jazz, soul and rock into the familiar setting of an acoustic piano trio and vocalist. Their reinterpretations include tracks by Alicia Keys, Stevie Wonder, Fiona Apple, The Cars, Joni Mitchell, John Legend and more. Hear streaming samples from their debut here.

The album is available digitally May 28 and is also on sale in the lobby of Broadway's Gershwin Theatre, where Mendez takes over the lead role in Wicked May 28.

A track listing for "This Time" follows:

1. Ordinary People (John Legend)
2. Us (Regina Spektor)

3. Fast As You Can (Fiona Apple)
4. No One (Alicia Keys)
5. A Case of You (Joni Mitchell)

6. Just What I Needed (The Cars)

7. Them Changes (Buddy Miles)

8. Lilac Wine (James H. Shelton)

9. As (Stevie Wonder)

10. All My Days (Alexi Murdoch)

11. Brandy Alexander (Feist & Ron Sexsmith)
12. Freedom of the Road (Martin Sexton)
13. Sittin’ in the Middle (Raul Midón)

The duo will celebrate the album July 21 at Birdland at 6 PM. The concert will also feature Chris Tordini on bass
 and Tommy Crane on drums. The album, which was recorded Feb. 1-3, is produced by Mendez and Paguia and co-produced by Dean Sharenow.

Mendez and Paguia met in 2010. Based in NYC, they have since performed at venues such as Joe's Pub, Birdland and, most recently, at Lincoln Center as part of the 2013 American Songbook series.

Mendez, who was last seen on Broadway in the revival of Godspell at Circle in the Square, was also seen in Everyday Rapture, Grease, Off-Broadway's Dogfight and The Marvelous Wonderettes as well as the Ryan Scott Oliver song cycle 35mm.

Paguia, who was the music director of the Tony-nominated Best Play Peter and the Starcatcher, composed the Fringe First Award-winning How to Act Around Cops (New York and Edinburgh Fringe Festivals). He has musically directed Everyday Rapture and Peter and the Starcatcher at New York Theatre Workshop, as well as the national tours of Disney's On The Record and Flower Drum Song.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: