London Cast Recording of Sound of Music, With Petula Clark, Due on CD in September | Playbill

Related Articles
News London Cast Recording of Sound of Music, With Petula Clark, Due on CD in September The 1981 London cast recording of The Sound of Music, featuring Petula Clark as Maria, will be released on CD for the first time in September.

The Rodgers and Hammerstein classic, which also features Michael Jayston as Captain von Trapp and Honor Blackman as the Baroness, will be released in the U.K. Sept. 27, according to the Dress Circle website. This CD also boasts two bonus tracks from the original Epic single issued to promote the stage show.

The complete track listing follows:

1. Preludium - Mother Abbess and Nuns
2. The Sound of Music - Petula Clark
3. Maria - June Bronhill and The Sisters
4. A Bell Is No Bell - Petula Clark and June Bronhill
5. I Have Confidence - Petula Clark
6. Do-Re-Mi - Petula Clark and Children
7. Sixteen Going on Seventeen - Paul Shearstone and Claire Parker
8. My Favourite Things - Petula Clark and Children
9. The Lonely Goatherd - Petula Clark, Children and Company
10. How Can Love Survive? - Honor Blackman and John Bennett
11. So Long, Farewell - Children
12. Climb Every Mountain - June Bronhill
13. Something Good - Petula Clark and Michael Jayson
14. Wedding Sequence, Maria (Reprise) - Nuns
15. Do-re-mi (Reprise) - Petula Clark, Michael Jayson and Company
16. Edelweiss - Michael Jayson, Petula Clark and Children
17. So Long, Farewell (Reprise) - Petula Clark, Michael Jayson and Company
18. Climb Every Mountain (Reprise) - June Bronhill and Nuns
19. Edelweiss (Epic Single)
20. Darkness (Epric Single)

The Sound of Music originally opened at Broadway's Lunt-Fontanne Theatre in November 1959. Mary Martin headed a cast that also included Theodore Bikel and Patricia Neway. Julie Andrews starred in the award-winning film, and the most recent Broadway revival featured Rebecca Luker as the beloved Maria von Trapp. The classic Rodgers and Hammerstein score boasts such tunes as "Do Re Mi," "My Favorite Things," "The Sound of Music" and "Climb Ev'ry Mountain."

The recording is currently available for pre-sale by visiting

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!