Lortel Winners Will Be Revealed May 1; Off-Broadway Nominees Include Edie Falco, Christian Borle and More

News   Lortel Winners Will Be Revealed May 1; Off-Broadway Nominees Include Edie Falco, Christian Borle and More
The 2011 Lucille Lortel Awards, honoring excellence in Off-Broadway theatre for 2010-11, will be handed out May 1 at NYU's Skirball Center. The ceremony has a theme of "Off-Broadway Rocks!," featuring performances by Everett Bradley, Orfeh, The Bettys and more.

Zach Braff co-hosts the ceremony.
Zach Braff co-hosts the ceremony. Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The 26th annual Lortel show is at 7 PM. Michael Heitzman directs with musical direction by David Holcenberg. Comic actress Samantha Bee ("The Daily Show") and actor Zach Braff (Off-Broadway's Trust, TV's "Scrubs") are the evening's co-hosts.

Laurie Metcalf, Michael Shannon, Michele Pawk, Thomas Sadoski, Lois Smith, Christian Borle, Edie Falco, Anna Louizos, Jon Robin Baitz, Joe Mantello, Linda Lavin are among Lortel nominees this year.

Award presenters include Kevin Kline, Olympia Dukakis, Blythe Danner, AnnaLynne McCord, Natasha Lyonne, Hilarie Burton, Eddie Kaye Thomas, Annabella Sciorra, Kelly Rutherford, Michael T. Weiss, Mike Birbiglia, Lily Rabe, Josh Hamilton, Matthew Settle, Ron Rifkin, T.V. Carpio, Valerie Harper, Arian Moayed, Terrence McNally, Anson Mount, Anthony Rapp, Sanjaya Malakar, Tammy Blanchard, Kate Shindle, Billy Porter, Seth Numrich, Christopher Hanke, Jeremy Strong and Patina Miller.

As previously announced, Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Lynne Meadow and Service to Off-Broadway Award recipient Gary Glaser will be honored during the ceremony for their contributions to Off-Broadway.

The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. The Lortel Awards are a benefit for The Actors Fund. Additional support is provided by the Theatre Development Fund. Skirball Center is at 566 LaGuardia Place, at Washington Square. Members of the industry may purchase tickets through the Off-Broadway League. Public tickets are $75 and are available via phone at (212) 352-3101 or online at http://skirballcenter.nyu.edu or in person at the Skirball Center's Shagan Box Office (566 LaGuardia Place).

For more information, visit www.LortelAward.


Outstanding Play

In the Wake - Produced by The Public Theater; Written by Lisa Kron

Other Desert Cities - Produced by Lincoln Center Theater; Written by Jon Robin Baitz

Peter and the Starcatcher - Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Rick Elice

The Coward - Produced by Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3; Written by Nick Jones

The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity - Produced by Second Stage Theatre; Written by Kristoffer Diaz

Outstanding Musical

Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson - Produced by The Public Theater and Center Theatre Group in association with Les Freres Corbusier; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book by Alex Timbers

In Transit - Produced by Primary Stages, the Baruch/Viertel/Routh/Frankel Group, Jane Bergere, Jodi Glucksman, Ken Greiner, Chip Meyrelles, Christina Papagjika, and Janet Rosen; Music, Lyrics and Book by Kristen Anderson-Lopez, James-Allen Ford, Russ Kaplan, Sara Wordsworth

The Burnt Part Boys - Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Vineyard Theatre; Music by Chris Miller, Lyrics by Nathan Tysen, Book by Mariana Elder

The Kid - Produced by The New Group; Music by Andy Monroe, Lyrics by Jack Lechner and Book by Michael Zam

We the People: America Rocks! - Produced by Theatreworks USA; Songs by Brad Alexander (Music) and Kevin Del Aguila (Lyrics), Eli Bolin (Music) and Sam Forman (Lyrics), Joe Iconis (Music and Lyrics), Tommy Newman (Music and Lyrics), Ryan Scott Oliver (Music and Lyrics), Adam Overett (Music and Lyrics), Mark Weiner (Music) and Erik Weiner and Jordan Allen-Dutton (Lyrics)

Outstanding Solo Show

Mike Birbiglia's My Girlfriend's Boyfriend - Produced by Ron Delsener and Mike Lavoie, and Mike Berkowitz and Joe Birbiglia; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia

Through the Night - Produced by Daryl Roth in association with Jana Robbins; Written and Performed by Daniel Beaty

Outstanding Revival

Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes/Part 1: Millennium Approaches, Part 2: Perestroika - Produced by Signature Theatre Company; Written by Tony Kushner

The Collection & A Kind of Alaska - Produced by Atlantic Theater Company; Written by Harold Pinter

The Little Foxes - Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Lillian Hellman

The Misanthrope - Produced by The Pearl Theatre Company; Written by Moliere, Translated into English Verse by Richard Wilbur

Three Sisters - Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by Anton Chekhov, Translated by Paul Schmidt

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience

Gatz - Produced by The Public Theater

Outstanding Director

John Collins, Gatz
Anne Kauffman, This Wide Night
Joe Mantello, Other Desert Cities
Joe Mantello, The Other Place
Leigh Silverman, In the Wake

Outstanding Choreographer

Tracy Bersley, The Witch of Edmonton
Steven Hoggett, Peter and the Starcatcher
Danny Mefford, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
Annie-B Parson, Orlando
Gail Pennington Crutchfield, Freckleface Strawberry

Outstanding Lead Actor

Desmin Borges, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity
Christian Borle, Peter and the Starcatcher
André Braugher, The Whipping Man
Michael Shannon, Mistakes Were Made
Jeremy Strong, The Coward

Outstanding Lead Actress

Tracee Chimo, Bachelorette
Edie Falco, This Wide Night
Elizabeth Marvel, The Little Foxes
Laurie Metcalf, The Other Place
Michele Pawk, A Small Fire

Outstanding Featured Actor

Michael Chernus, In the Wake
Noah Galvin, The Burnt Part Boys
David Patrick Kelly, When I Come to Die
David Margulies, After the Revolution
Thomas Sadoski, Other Desert Cities

Outstanding Featured Actress

Laura Heisler, Kin
Linda Lavin, Other Desert Cities
Deirdre O'Connell, In the Wake
Kristen Schaal, The Coward
Lois Smith, After the Revolution

Outstanding Scenic Design

Rachel Hauck, This Wide Night
Anna Louizos, In Transit
Jan Versweyveld, The Little Foxes
Donyale Werle, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
Donyale Werle, Peter and the Starcatcher

Outstanding Costume Design

Gabriel Berry, The Coward
Jennifer Caprio, In Transit
Cait O'Connor, The Witch of Edmonton
Emily Rebholz, This Wide Night
David Zinn, Other Desert Cities

Outstanding Lighting Design

Betsy Adams, When I Come to Die
Mark Barton, Gatz
Matt Frey, This Wide Night
Jesse Klug, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity
Ben Stanton, The Whipping Man

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity
Fitz Patton, The Other Place
Mic Pool, The 39 Steps
Jon Weston, In Transit
Ben Williams, Gatz

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Lortel Voting Committee. The Lucille Lortel Awards is produced by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

Today’s Most Popular News: