MAC Nominees Announced: McGovern Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

News   MAC Nominees Announced: McGovern Receives Lifetime Achievement Award
The nominees for the 22nd Annual MAC Awards have been announced, honoring excellence in New York City cabaret, comedy and jazz.
Maureen McGovern
Maureen McGovern Photo by Gideon Lewin

Eileen Fulton, Klea Blackhurst, John Treacy Egan, Heather Parcells and Nancy Witter announced the 2008 MAC nominees at the Barnes & Noble Lincoln Triangle at 1:30 PM March 25.

The 2008 MAC Awards will honor the Singing Experience founder Linda Amiel Burns (Board of Directors Award), Barnes and Noble "Any Wednesday" series creator Bart Greenberg (Board of Directors Award), comedian Lewis Black (Outstanding Achievement in Comedy) and Grammy Award-winning vocalist Maureen McGovern (Lifetime Achievement Award).

The complete list of 22nd Annual MAC Awards nominees follows.

Female Celebrity Artist
Lucie Arnaz
Betty Buckley
Liz Callaway
Diahann Carroll
Linda Carter
Christine Ebersole
Linda Eder
Penny Puller
Eileen Fulton
Tammy Grimes
Andrea Marcovicci
Chita Rivera
KT Sullivan
Mary Wilson

Male/Duo Celebrity Artist
Ashford & Simpson
Michael Feinstein
Peter Gallagher
Galt MacDermott
Jackie Mason
Donny Osmond
Steve Ross
Ben Vereen
Tom Wopat Female Vocalist
Jenna Esposito
Terese Genecco
Jeanne MacDonald
Marieann Meringolo

Male Vocalist
Brandon Cutrell
Miles Phillips
Marcus Simeone

Major Artist
Barbara Brussell
Baby Jane Dexter
Christine Pedi
Lennie Watts

New York Debut – Female
Suzanne Carrico
Kathryne Langford
Susan Winter

New York Debut – Male
Luci Fernandez
Jonathan Whittton
Vincent Wolfe

Musical Comedy/Impersonation
Steven Brinberg
Jimmy James
Ray Jessel

Vocal Duo or Group
Edd Clark & Sue Matsuki
Karen Mack & Michael Holland Anthony Santelmo, Jr. & Valerie DiLorenzo

The Songs of Joe Iconis
My Friend, The Cat
Rendezvous – An Evening with Piaf, Brel, Aznavour and Friends

Variety Production/Recurring Series
The After Party
Jamie deRoy & Friends
Jim Caruso's Cast Party
New York Sheet Music Society Shows

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Male
David Colbert
A.J. Irvin
Eric Pickering
George Sanders
Jonathan Tomaselli

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Female
Maria Gentile
Sarah Mucho
Anne Steele

Piano Bar/Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Stephen Bocchino
David Budway
Joe Regan
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Musical Director
Paul Greenwood
Rick Jensen
Daryl Kojak
Alex Rybeck
Steven Ray Watkins

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Eric Michael Gillett
Miles Phillips

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Shane Mathews
Jean-Pierre Perreaux

"Another Christmas" – words and music by Nicholas Levin
"Close to Heaven" – words and music by Patrick Dwyer
"Friend" – words and music by Patrick DeGennaro
"I Remember" – words by Shaynee Rainbolt and Russell Garcia, music by Russell Garcia
"This Time" – words by Bob Levy, music by Karen Jacobsen

Special Musical Material
"I'm a Real New Yorker" – words by Jay Jeffries, music by John McMahon
"A Moral Quandry" – words and music by Patrick Dwyer
"One Stop Shopping" – words by Dan Page, Michele Page, Sue Matsuki and Gregory Toroian, music by Sue Matsuki and Gregory Toroian
"A Piano Bar Confession" – words and music by David Auxier
"Whacked" – words by Judy Barnett, music by Ted Kooshian

Brandon Cutrell – "Brandon Cutrell"
Terese Genecco – "Drunk With Love"
Marieann Meringolo – "Here's to the Ladies!"
Jonathan Whitton – "Perfect Finite"

Jazz Recording
Scott Albertson – "Fate Revealed By Design"
Joyce Breach – "Remembering Mabel Mercer – Vol. 3"
John DeMarco – "Pure and Simple"
Linda Kosut – "Long As You're Living"
Barbara Lea – "Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?"

Jazz Vocalist – Female
Mychelle Colleary
Linda Kosut
Laurie Krauz
Shaynee Rainbolt
Alysha Umphress

Jazz Vocalist – Male
Scot Albertson
Jack Donohue
Cleve Douglass
Dane Vannatter
Julian Yeo

Major Jazz Vocalist
Judy Barnett
Natalie Douglas
Hilary Kole
Claire Martin
Sarah Partridge

Jazz Duo or Group
Mary Foster Conklin & George Evans
Jesse Gelber & Kate Manning
The Daryl Kojak Trio
Alex Leonard Duo
The Barry Levitt Trio

Stand-Up Comic
Peyton Clarkson
Becky Donohue
Marina Franklin
Poppi Kramer
Joe Larson
John Mulaney
Amy Schumer
Darlene Violette
Rick Younger

Major Stand-Up Comic – Female
Michelle Balan
Sue Costello
Susie Essman
Karith Foster
Jessica Kirson
Lynne Koplitz
Lisa Landry
Kerri Louise
Janice Messitte

Major Stand-Up Comic – Male
Mike Birbiglia
Bill Burr
Louie C.K.
Jim David
Mitch Fatal
Greg Giraldo
Nick Griffin
Jim Norton
Gregg Rogell

Comedy/Improv Duo or Group
Better Than the Machine
Chicago City Limits
City Hall
The Kinsey Sicks
2 For The Show

As previously announced, the annual MAC will be presented May 6. The evening will be held in Manhattan at B.B. King Blues Club, located on West 42nd Street.

Lennie Watts will direct the 22nd Annual MAC Awards, which will celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs.

The MAC Awards, according to the official MAC website, are presented annually to "honor achievements in Cabaret, Comedy, and Jazz. The Awards encompass more that two dozen categories such as: vocalists and vocal groups, piano bar and jazz performers, comedy and musical performers, writers of songs and special material, directors, musical directors, recordings, and more. In addition, through special awards, MAC salutes outstanding contributions to the field of live entertainment."

Today’s Most Popular News: