Mantello, Nicholaw, Spamalot and Twelve Angry Men Win Touring Broadway Awards

News   Mantello, Nicholaw, Spamalot and Twelve Angry Men Win Touring Broadway Awards
The winners of the Broadway League's Touring Broadway Awards were announced April 14 during a ceremony in the Mercury Suite of the Hilton New York.
Casey Nicholaw
Casey Nicholaw Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Presenters of the awards included Chazz Palminteri, recently seen on Broadway in A Bronx Tale; Jersey Boys choreographer Sergio Trugillo; and August: Osage County stars Rondi Reed, Madeleine Martin and Amy Morton.

For the second consecutive year, Wicked was recognized with the Touring Broadway Audience Choice Award; the hit Stephen Schwartz-Winnie Holzman musical also nabbed prizes for Best Musical Score of a Touring Production and Best Direction of a Touring Production.

Disney's The Lion King was recognized for maintaining high quality throughout its lengthy run, and Reginald Rose's Twelve Angry Men was named Best Touring Play.

In a statement League executive director Charlotte St. Martin said, "We are delighted to recognize the extraordinary work of these shows and individuals with this year's Touring Broadway Awards. Since Broadway is the longest street in the world with Broadway shows playing in 240 cities, it's fitting that the Broadway League recognizes the best of the road each season with this award."

Established in 2000 by The Broadway League, the Touring Broadway Awards are the first national awards to recognize tours of Broadway productions. League presenters representing over 240 markets selected the recipients. The complete list of winners of the 2008 Touring Broadway Awards follows.

Best New Touring Musical
Monty Python's Spamalot
Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, The Shubert Organization, Arielle Tepper, Stephanie McClelland/Lawrence Horowitz, Elan V. McAllister/Allan S. Gordon, Independent Presenters Network, Roy Furman, GRS Associates, Jam Theatricals, Concert Productions International, Live Nation

Best Touring Play
Twelve Angry Men
Author: Reginald Rose
Producer: Roundabout Theatre Company (Todd Haimes, Artistic Director; Harold Wolpert, Managing Director; Julia C. Levy, Executive Director)

Best Design of a Touring Production
My Fair Lady
Scenic and Costume Design: Anthony Ward
Lighting Design: David Hersey

Best Musical Score of a Touring Production
Wicked Music and Lyrics:  Stephen Schwartz

Best Direction of a Touring Production
Joe Mantello

Best Choreography of a Touring Production
Casey Nicholaw
The Drowsy Chaperone

Best Long-Running Touring Musical
The Lion King
Producer: Disney Theatrical Productions

Touring Broadway Achievement Award
Brad Little

Touring Broadway Audience Choice Award

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: