Mark Brokaw, Cheyenne Jackson, Liza Gennaro, Adam Guettel and More Join Tony Nominating Committee for 2012-13

News   Mark Brokaw, Cheyenne Jackson, Liza Gennaro, Adam Guettel and More Join Tony Nominating Committee for 2012-13
The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced the Nominating Committee for the 2012-2013 Broadway season. The committee will welcome newcomers Mary-Louise Parker, Cheyenne Jackson, John Leguizamo and more, in a range of theatrical disciplines.

Cheyenne Jackson
Cheyenne Jackson Photo by Karl Simone

The Nominating Committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season. The new season's nominators were revealed on June 18.

Asterisks below denote new members to the Nominating Committee. The committee of Tony Nominators, will include 42 members for the 2012-13 season:

Arin Arbus* – Associate Artistic Director, Theatre for a New Audience

John Arnone – Scenic Designer

Victoria Bailey – Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund Susan Birkenhead*- Lyricist

Mark Brokaw* – Director/Artistic Director, Yale Institute for Music Theatre

Donald Byrd* – Choreographer

Ben Cameron* – Program Director for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, NY

Mary Schmidt Campbell* – Dean, Tisch School of the Arts

Douglas J. Cohen – Composer/Lyricist/Playwright

John Darnton* – Author/Former Cultural Editor, The New York Times

Jacqueline Z. Davis* – Executive Dir., The NY Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center

André de Shields – Actor

Gordon Edelstein – Director/Artistic Director, Long Wharf Theater

Rick Elice* – Playwright

Beverly Emmons – Lighting Designer

Bert Fink – Senior Vice President of Communication Imagem USA/R&H: An Imagem Co.

Boyd Gaines – Actor

Liza Gennaro* – Choreographer

Michael Greif – Director

Kathryn Grody – Actor/Writer

Adam Guettel* – Composer/Lyricist

Wendall K. Harrington* – Projection Designer/Lecturer

Susan Hilferty – Costume Designer

Mark Hollmann – Composer/Lyricist

Ann Hould-Ward* – Costume Designer

Cheyenne Jackson* – Actor

Abe Jacob – Sound Designer

Anne Kauffman – Director

Moisés Kaufman – Director/Playwright/Artistic Director, Tectonic Theater

John Leguizamo* – Actor/Playwright

Todd London – Artistic Director, New Dramatists

Mary-Louise Parker* - Actor

Pam MacKinnon – Director

Susan Rice – Playwright/Screenwriter

Mervyn Rothstein – Retired Writer & Editor, The New York Times

Tobie S. Stein – Director, Graduate Program in Performing Arts and Management, Brooklyn College

Rosemarie Tichler – Theatre Educator/Author

Robert Viagas – Executive Editor of The Playbill Broadway Yearbook

Carol Waaser – Retired AEA Official/Company & Stage Manager

Kevin Wade – Playwright/Screenwriter

Tony Walton – Scenic/Costume Designer, Director

Chay Yew – Playwright/Director/Artistic Director, Victory Gardens Theater


The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is executive director. At the American Theatre Wing, Theodore S. Chapin is chairman and Heather Hitchens is executive director. For Tony Award Productions, Alan Wasser and Allan Williams of Alan Wasser Associates are the General Managers. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment were the Executive Producers of the 2012 Tony Awards.

Today’s Most Popular News: