Marvin Hamlisch and Donna McKechnie to Announce 2006 Drama Desk Noms, April 27

News   Marvin Hamlisch and Donna McKechnie to Announce 2006 Drama Desk Noms, April 27
Nominations for the 51st Annual Drama Desk Awards will be announced on Thursday, April 27 at 9:45 AM ET, by composer Marvin Hamlisch and actress Donna McKechnie

The ceremony will take place at the New York Friars Club, 57 East 55th Street, in Manhattan.

Hamlisch is the author of many Broadway scores, including They're Playing Our Song, Sweet Smell of Success and A Chorus Line, in which MacKechnie starred.

As previously announced, actor Harvey Fierstein will host the 2006 Drama Desk Awards ceremony, which will be held on Sunday, May 21 at 9 PM, at the LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center.

Fierstein is the winner of three Drama Desk Awards and four Tony Awards. He was most recently seen on Broadway in Fiddler on the Roof, playing Tevye. Before that, he won Tony and Drama Desk Awards for his performance in Hairspray.

The Drama Desk Awards will be taped and subsequently broadcast nationwide on PBS stations. In New York, the program will be shown on Thirteen/WNET and on NYC-25 TV. The broadcast package was arranged by Roy A. Somlyo, who joined the Drama Desk Awards as consulting producer in 2004 after serving five years as President/CEO of the American Theatre Wing. For the fourth year in a row, the awards ceremony will be webcast by

The Drama Desk nominating committee for the 2005-06 season includes Barbara Siegel, Committee Chair ("The Siegel Column" on and Siegel Entertainment Syndicate); Michael Buckley ("Channeling Theatre" column at; Christopher Byrne (Gay City News and The Villager); Matthew Murray (, Stage Directions magazine); Andy Propst ( and XM Satellite Radio); Richard Ridge (Broadway Beat TV); and William Wolf ( ).

Today’s Most Popular News: