Mason, Cantone, Hoffman, Maye, Blackhurst, Stritch Are MAC Winners

News   Mason, Cantone, Hoffman, Maye, Blackhurst, Stritch Are MAC Winners
Winners of the 23rd annual MAC (Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs) Awards were announced May 18 at BB King Blues Club in Manhattan.
Karen Mason
Karen Mason

Andrea Marcovicci and Nancy Witter co-hosted the ceremony. Stage and screen veteran Polly Bergen was honored with the 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Winners of the 2009 MAC Awards follow (winners names are in bold and are preceded by an asterisk).

Celebrity Artist
Karen Mason
*Marilyn Maye
Chita Rivera
KT Sullivan

Major Artist
*Klea Blackhurst & Billy Stritch
Baby Jane Dexter
Eric Michael Gillett
Christine Pedi

Female Vocalist
Jenna Esposito
*Terese Genecco
Raissa Katona Bennett
Julie Reyburn Male Vocalist
*Marcus Simeone
Kim Smith
Jonathan Whitton
Michael Winther

Debut Female
Deb Berman
Christina Bianco
*Cait Doyle

Debut Male
*Ben Cherry
Kevin Dozier
Stearns Matthews

Musical Comedy Performer/Duo/Group
Booth & Pat
Hedda Lettuce
*Shawn Ryan

Vocal Duo/Group
David Gurland & Brian Farley
*Karen Oberlin & Miles Phillips
Uptown Express

Revue/Special Production
Metro Star
What's the Point?

*Cabaret Cares
Grace Notes: Singer's Soiree
Jamie deRoy & Friends

Open Mic
After Party
Algonquin Salon
*Jim Caruso's Cast Party

Female Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Maria Gentile
Tracy Reynolds
*Anne Steele

Male Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Bobby Belfry
*Eric Pickering
George Sanders

Piano Bar/Restaurant Instrumentalist
Michael Isaacs
Joe Regan
*Tracy Stark

Musical Director
Daryl Kojak
Don Rebic
*Tracy Stark

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Eric Michael Gillett
Miles Phillips
*Lennie Watts

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
David Colbert
*JP Perraux

Jazz Male Vocal
Scot Albertson
*Jack Donahue
Peter Eldridge
Tony Middleton
Julian Yeo-Tony

Jazz Female Vocal
Laura Hull
*Laurie Krauz
Shaynee Rainbolt
Jane Scheckter
Alysha Umphress

Jazz Duo/Singer/Instrumentalist
Champion Fulton
Russ Kassoff
Kathleen Landis
Alex Leonard Duo
*Daryl Sherman

Major Male Stand-Up
*Mario Cantone
Jim Gaffigan
Greg Giraldo
Tom Papa
Louis Ramey

Major Female Stand-Up
Susie Essman
*Jackie Hoffman
Jessica Kirson
Lynne Koplitz

Female Stand-Up
Dena Blizzard
Michelle Buteau
Mary Dimino
Ophira Eisenberg
*Maureen Langan

Male Stand-Up
Wali Collins
Joe Devito
Joe DeRosa
Kyle Grooms
*Rick Younger

Improv/Comedy Club
*Chicago City Limits
Calgary Whalers
Comedy Sportz

"Hallways: The Songs of Carol Hall"
"Barry Lloyd Live"
*"Karen Mason: Right Here, Right Now"
"Stardust & Swing" (Todd Murray)
"It's a Small Town" (Stacy Sullivan)
"Walk Like a Man" (Uptown Express)

Jazz Recording
"Something Still Cool" (Elli Fordyce)
"A Song About Forever" (The Kurt Weill Project)
*"Charmed Life: Shaynee Rainbolt Sings Russell Garcia"
"Cole Porter Live at Maxim's" (Spider Saloff)
"Unusual Passage" (Julian Yeo)

"Running" (Adam Gwon)
"Change In Me" (Carol Hall)
*"Come Home" (Mark Janas & Peter Napolitano)
"Right Here, Right Now" (Paul Rolnick & Jim Papoulis)
"Living Without Love" (Jason Wynn)

Special Material
*"This Is My Birthday" (Carol Hall)
"Leaky Ceiling" (Sharon Kenny)
"The Olives of Regret" (Nicholas Levin)
"The Mess" (Ryan Scott Oliver)
"You May Have A Problem" (Dan Page, John Domurad & Michael Page)

In addition to the competitive awards, Joey Reynolds and Myra Chanin, as well as Eva Swann and Vocal Ease received the Board of Directors Awards. The Time Out New York Award was presented to Poor Baby Bree.

For further information, visit MACNYC.


The MAC Awards, according to the official MAC website, are presented annually to "honor achievements in Cabaret, Comedy, and Jazz. The Awards encompass more that two dozen categories such as: vocalists and vocal groups, piano bar and jazz performers, comedy and musical performers, writers of songs and special material, directors, musical directors, recordings, and more. In addition, through special awards, MAC salutes outstanding contributions to the field of live entertainment."

Today’s Most Popular News: