Megan Mullally, Virginia Kull, Glynn Turman, More Cast In Percy Jackson Disney+ Series | Playbill

Film & TV News Megan Mullally, Virginia Kull, Glynn Turman, More Cast In Percy Jackson Disney+ Series

The forthcoming series is based on the best-selling novels by Rick Riordan.

Megan Mullally, Virginia Kull, and Glynn Turman Kathy Hutchins / Shutterstock

Disney+'s Percy Jackson and the Olympians has added five new cast members, including Broadway veterans Megan Mullally, Virginia Kull, and Glynn Turman. As reported by Variety, the announced cast will appear in recurring roles. 

Cast along with Mullally, Kull, and Turman, are screen actors Jason Mantzoukas and Timm Sharp. The forthcoming series is based on the bestselling novels by Rick Riordan, which was also adapted into a movie series directed by Chris Columbus (director of the RENT movie adaptation), and as a Broadway musical. The story follows 12-year-old demigod, Percy Jackson, who's coming to terms with his newfound powers. He is accused of theft by sky god Zeus and seeks resolution alongside his friends Grover and Annabeth.

As previously announced, Trevor: The Musical's Aryan Simhadri will play Grover and Leah Sava Jeffries will play Annabeth, alongside Walker Scobell as the title character. Mullally is set to play math teacher and Hades devotee Alectoe; Kull will appear as Percy's mother Sally Jackson; and Turman will play Latin teacher Mr. Brunner.

Mullally made her Broadway debut in the 1994 revival of Grease as Marty, and went on to star in productions of How to Succeed in Business Without Really TryingYoung Frankenstein, and It's Only a PlayKull starred in the Broadway productions of The Heiress and Man and Boy. Turman's Broadway credits includes productions of A Raisin in the Sun and What the Wine-Sellers Buy.

Riordan and Jon Steinberg serve as writers for the Disney+ series, with James Bobin directing. Steinberg will oversee the series and executive producer with producer Dan Shotz and executive producers Bobin, Riordan, Rebecca Riordan, Bert Salke, Monica Owusu-Breen, Jim Rowe, Anders Engström, Jet Wilkinson, Ellen Goldsmith-Vein, Jeremy Bell, and D.J. Goldberg.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!