Meisle and Quinton Win Callaway Awards

News   Meisle and Quinton Win Callaway Awards
Kathryn Meisle and Everett Quinton have been selected by the Actors' Equity Foundation to receive the 2008 Joe A. Callaway Awards.
Kathryn Meisle
Kathryn Meisle

Both Meisle and Quinton were recognized for their performances in the Red Bull Theatre production of Women Beware Women. The awards will be presented to the two actors during Equity's Eastern Regional Membership Meeting on Jan. 9, 2009, at the Manhattan Equity offices. The award — which includes an engraved plaque and a $1,000 check — honors "the best performances in a professional production of a classic play (one written prior to 1920) in the New York metropolitan area," according to press notes. The award was established by Callaway to "encourage participation in the classics and non-profit theatre."

This year's panel of judges included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out NY; Harry Haun, Playbill; Michael Kuchwara, Associated Press; and David Rosenberg, Back Stage.

Kathryn Meisle received a Tony nomination for her performance in Tartuffe and has also appeared on Broadway in A Touch of the Poet, The Constant Wife, London Assurance, The Rehearsal and Racing Demon. Meisle received her first Callaway Award in 2003 for her performance in Moliere's Tartuffe.

Everett Quinton was the co-founder, with his partner Charles Ludlum, of the Ridiculous Theatrical Company, which disbanded in 1996. He appeared in The Mystery of Irma Vep and in the national tour of Cinderella. Also a director and playwright, Quinton's regional theatre credits are extensive.

Last year's recipients of the Joe A. Callaway awards were Lauren Ambrose (Romeo and Juliet) and Byron Jennings (Is He Dead?). Other honorees include Lily Rabe, Michael Stuhlbarg, Laura Linney, Frank Langella, Liev Schreiber and Kate Burton.

Today’s Most Popular News: