Michael Urie Will Host Drama Desk Awards

News   Michael Urie Will Host Drama Desk Awards
The annual ceremony will be held in June at The Town Hall in New York.
Michael Urie
Michael Urie Ryan Miller/Capture Imaging

The 62nd Annual Drama Desk Awards will be presented June 4, 2017, at 8 PM at The Town Hall in midtown Manhattan; the news was announced by Drama Desk president Charles Wright and Gretchen Shugart, who is the managing executive producer of the awards. Drama Desk winner Michael Urie (Buyer and Cellar, Ugly Betty) will return as host of the ceremony.

Nominations will be announced April 27 at 10 AM at Feinstein's/54 Below.

The Drama Desk Awards are the only major New York City theatre honors for which productions on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway compete against each other in the same categories. What sets the Drama Desk Awards apart is that they are voted on and bestowed by theatre critics, journalists, editors, and publishers covering theatre, without any vested interest in the results.

Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show, which will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Mark Waldrop.

The 2016-2017 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of David Barbour (Lighting & Sound America), Chair; Linda Buchwald (freelance, American Theatre, Playbill, TDF Stages, Theatre is Easy, JTA); Peter Filichia (Broadway Select, author, most recently of The Great Parade: The Remarkable 1963-64 Broadway Season); David Finkle (blogger, Huffington Post; Clyde Fitch Report); Sandy MacDonald (freelance, Time Out New York, TheaterNewsOnline.com); Douglas Strassler (Garden State Journal); Zachary Stewart (TheaterMania); and Charles Wright (President, Drama Desk), ex officio.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: