Mimi Awards, Honoring Playwrights, to Be Presented in November

News   Mimi Awards, Honoring Playwrights, to Be Presented in November
The 3rd Annual 'Mimi' Awards, endowed by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, will be presented Nov. 8 at the Vivian Beaumont Theater at Lincoln Center Theater.

The Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award (for established playwrights) and the Steinberg Playwright Awards (for playwrights in earlier stages of their careers), both known as The Mimi, are presented in alternating years.

The first Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award went to Tony Kushner in 2008. Last year, David Adjmi, Tarell Alvin McCraney and Bruce Norris were presented with the first Steinberg Playwright Awards. Norris was honored for his body of work and outstanding potential (for which he received a $50,000 cash award), and Adjmi and McCraney were honored for being promising new voices in the theatre (for which they each received a cash award of $25,000). The playwrights were also presented with The Mimi, a statue designed by David Rockwell.

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust was created by Harold Steinberg in 1986 in the names of himself and his late wife Miriam.  The Trust's primary mission is "to support and promote the American theater as a vital part of our culture by nurturing American playwrights, encouraging the development and production of new American plays, and providing significant support to theater companies across the country."

An Advisory Committee of theatre professionals is responsible for establishing the criteria for the Steinberg Playwright Awards, as well as the nomination and selection process. This year, the Advisory Committee welcomes three new members as part of a planned rotation: Susan Booth, artistic director of the Alliance Theatre; Todd London, artistic director of New Dramatists; and Lynne Meadow, artistic director, Manhattan Theatre Club.  These new members of the Advisory Committee join David Emmes, producing artistic director, South Coast Repertory; Oskar Eustis, artistic director, The Public Theater; Polly Carl, director of artistic development, Steppenwolf Theatre Company; and playwright Eduardo Machado, artistic director, INTAR Theatre.

The members of the Board of Directors of The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust are Carole A. Krumland, James D. Steinberg, Michael A. Steinberg, Seth M. Weingarten and William D. Zabel.

Today’s Most Popular News: