More Amour: CD of Broadway Musical Hits Stores July 8

News   More Amour: CD of Broadway Musical Hits Stores July 8
The original Broadway cast recording of Amour — the short-lived Michel Legrand musical that garnered a 2003 Tony Award nomination for Best Musical — arrives in stores July 8.

The single CD, which includes the original Broadway cast, also boasts a bonus track featuring composer Legrand. Legrand offers his version of "An Ordinary Guy"; the 28-track CD features star Malcolm Gets' recording of that tune as well.

The Sh-K-Boom Records release includes complete lyrics, several production photos and liner notes by Legrand, Didier van Cauwelaert and Jeremy Sams. There is also a note from record producers Kurt Deutsch and Joel Moss, who write, "Amour opened on Broadway on October 20, 2002 at the Music Box Theatre and closed after only thirty-one previews and seventeen performances. Six months later on a snowy April day, Michel Legrand, James Lapine, Todd Ellison and the original company — nine actors and five musicians — reunited to make this recording. And something magical happened. Virtually no rehearsal was needed. Everyone continued their journey through the music with a wonderful spirit of re-discovery of their character and their songs. The joy of performing together, the love of musical theatre in general and this show in particular filled the recording studio. It was a gift for us to experience this and a privilege to have preserved it for years to come."

The complete track listing for Amour follows:

"Office Life"
"Going Home Alone"
"Other People's Stories"
"The Street Vendors' Waltz"
"Dusoleil Walks Through the Wall"
"The Doctor"
"An Ordinary Guy"
"Dusoleil's Revenge"
"Prosecutor's Song"
"Whore's Lament"
"Monsieur Passepartout"
"Special Time of Day"
"The Latest News"
"Dusoleil in Jail"
"Painter's Song"
"Isabelle On Her Balcony"
"The Advocate's Plea"
"The Trial"
"Duet for Dusoleil and Isabelle"
"Whistling Quartet"
"Dusoleil Meets the Press"
Bonus Track: "An Ordinary Guy"

Song samples are available by visiting *

The Sh-K-Boom label recorded the charming musical April 7 with its original Broadway cast. The nine-person company, led by 2003 Tony Award nominees Melissa Errico and Malcolm Gets, also featured Norm Lewis, John Cunningham, Christopher Fitzgerald, Bill Nolte, Nora Mae Lyng, Lewis Cleale and Sarah Litzsinger.

Amour fared well in this year’s Tony nominations. Not only did stars Errico and Gets garner nominations, the musical also received nods for Best Musical, Best Book of a Musical (Didier van Cauwelaert, English translation by Jeremy Sams) and Best Original Score (music: Michel Legrand, lyrics: Didier van Cauwelaert, English translation by Jeremy Sams).

In addition to solo albums by Adam Pascal, Sherie Rene Scott and Alice Ripley, Sh-K-Boom Records has recently begun to record original cast albums. Jason Robert Brown’s The Last Five Years and the recent Off-Broadway comedy Debbie Does Dallas, are now among the Sh- K Boom catalogue. For more about the fledgling company, visit


Amour began Broadway previews Sept. 21, 2003, and officially opened to mixed reviews on Oct. 20. The show played 31 previews and 17 regular performances.

A translation of the hit French tuner Le Passe Muraille, the American version was produced by The Shubert Organization, Jean Doumanian Productions Inc. and USA Ostar Theatricals. Featuring music by award winning composer Legrand, the musical was translated by Jeremy Sams. Original French lyrics were written by Didier van Cauwelaert.

Tony winner James Lapine, who helmed Broadway's Dirty Blonde, Passion, Sunday in the Park with George and both the current and original productions of Into the Woods, was the musical's director. The remainder of the creative team comprised Jane Comfort (choreography), Scott Pask (scenic design), Dona Granata (costume design), Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer (lighting design), Dan Moses Schreier (sound design), Tom Watson (hair and wig design), Todd Ellison (musical direction and vocal arrangements) and Michel Legrand (orchestrations). Jim Steinmeyer, who has created illusions for Doug Henning and David Copperfield, was responsible for the musical's illusion designs.

Based on a French short story by Marcel Ayme, Amour is set in post World War II Paris and concerns the life of a civil servant who discovers he has the ability to walk through walls. The French version, Le Passe Muraille, won the Prix Moliere for Best Musical in 1997, the equivalent of the Tony Award.

Today’s Most Popular News: